British Racing & Sports Car Club



On the evening of Saturday, 1st March at The Park Royal Hotel in Warrington, no less than 184 Marshals, Drivers & BRSCC Members gathered to celebrate 60 years of the NW Centre and to present awards to Formula Ford & XR Challenge drivers for the 2013 season

The guest of Honour was Paddy Hopkirk the renowned Rally driver who competed from 1950 until 1970.

Proceedings started with the Master of Ceremonies (MC) Ray Sumner introducing Paddy who then presented the Formula Ford and XR Challenge awards. Photographs of these presentations were taken by Ken Mellor who kindly provided a selection of images from the evening for this page.

Mike Heath - XR Champion (XR2)


Adam Burgess - XR Challenge (XR3)


Jamie Jardine - Pre90 FF1600 Northern Champion & Champion of Oulton


Following an enjoyable meal, Mr Hopkirk made a short but amusing address.

The MC then called on the Centre Chairman, Tom Dooley (who has served the Centre throughout its 60 year existence), to take over the microphone. Tom welcomed the Marshals and Drivers, explaining how much the Centre valued their support before reminiscing on his exploits on the Monte Carlo Rally. He then welcomed Bernard Cottrell, (National Chairman), Drew Furlong (Competitions Director) and BRSCC Board Members Graham Whittaker and Rodger Tello.

Tom then highlighted that the evening’s Tombola was again in aid of the Centre’s Rescue Vehicle before going on to praise them for their efforts and dedication. They are scheduled to officiate on 47 days during 2014.

Thoughts then turned to the loss of several BRSCC Members & Marshals throughout 2013 and also in the early months of 2014. In the latter category was Brian Linley, father of Formula Ford driver Barry. At the funeral, donations in memory of Brian were made for the BRSCC’s Rescue Unit. These totalled £1,010 which was a great show of esteem for this very popular supporter of Formula Ford. Tom then asked Barry to join him to present the cheque to Simon Morrell – the Centre Rescue Chief.

Tom then went on to mention John Dinsdale, a long time Flag Marshal, who also died suddenly in January. The next sad death recalled was that of John Hart who had marshalled for many years in different roles. He passed away mid 2013. His family had donated a Trophy to go to a marshal and the Committee had chosen the oldest active marshal at Oulton Park – Don Hall – who can still regularly be seen Flagging in his shorts in all weathers. Don has a wealth of experience having started marshalling in 1955. Below is a photo of the presentation

Following this Tom went on to present a Memento to Linda O’Neil (below) who has been the Centre’s Secretary of the Meeting at Oulton Park for 12 years. She is retiring to France at the end of 2014.

The MC then called on Bernard Cottrell to present the Centre Awards which were handed out as follows:

The John Ellison. Marshal of the Year Award – Ian Lewis (Chief Observer)

The Madge Simpson Trophy, Lady Marshal of the Year – Alison Featherstone (Chief Start Line Marshal)

Achiever of the Year – David “Fasttoes” Williams (Webmaster of the Centre’s Website)

Formula Ford Driver of the Year – Jamie Jardine.

Bernard Cottrell then re-presented to Tom a large framed photograph of him contesting the 1969 Monte Carlo Rally. This was in recognition of his 60 years service to BRSCC and had originally been presented at the Club's National Awards night.

The evening then continued with the drawing of the Tombola prizes followed by dancing.

A good time was had by all!