AVON Tyres National Formula Ford Championship

Still going strong after more than 50 years and giving racing stars a key first step in their racing careers.

Next Event Silverstone International Circuit


20 March 2021 - 21 March 2021

go to event


If you would like to get involved or need further information, use the contact details below to find out more via the championship co-ordinator

Esther Crook - Co-ordinator

07713 165 935

send email


Supplementary documents, bulletins and other relevant information may be shown here
Esther Crook - Co-ordinator

07713 165 935

send email


A selection of photos showing the formula in action courtesy of Bourne Photographic.

About the AVON Tyres National Formula Ford Championship

One of the longest standing categories in motorsport, Formula Ford has been the ideal proving ground for nurturing young, up and coming talent for more than 50 years and still continues to produce superstars of future today. Lack of aerodynamic aids means drivers learn how to set up and drive a race car purely on mechanical grip, teaching them valuable lessons that will stay with them for the rest of their racing careers.

The National Formula Ford Championship features a calendar that visits some of the best motorsport venues up and down the UK, including an annual visit to Kirkistown in Northern Ireland. Circuits that it regularly visits include Silverstone, Brands Hatch, Donington Park, Oulton Park, Croft and Snetterton.

The championship is split into two categories – the Pro Class and the Clubman Class. Drivers in the Pro Class are typically career-minded and use it as a stepping stone to reach their motorsport aspirations. You’ll usually find young drivers aged between 16-25 here, with the occasional experienced driver that can keep up at the front. The Clubman class provides young rookies a chance to develop their skills away from the high pressure of the Pro class drivers, while also catering to racing enthusiasts who simply want the pleasure of racing a Formula Ford at their own pace.

The sub-class structures for the championship read as follows:

Pro Class
Any age of car with no class sub-divisions

Clubman Class

P Class Cars built from 1999 onwards
Super Classic A Cars built between 1998 and 1990
Super Classic B Cars built between 1982 and 1989
Super Classic C Cars built between 1981 and 1972
Super Classic D Cars built prior to 1972 and older

Along with the main championship, there are also additional contests for both the Triple Crown and Tourist Trophy titles. The Triple Crown consists of National rounds at Silverstone, Snetterton and Brands Hatch, while the Tourist Trophy comprises of races in England (Croft), Northern Ireland (Kirkistown) and Wales (Anglesey). Drivers that compete in these National rounds will score points towards both the overall championship and the respective Triple Crown/ Tourist Trophy standings at the same time.

1 - 2020 18 Jul 2020 - 18 Jul 2020 Oulton Park International Download PDF
7 - 2019 28 Sep 2019 - 29 Sep 2019 Brands Hatch Indy Download PDF
6 - 2019 14 Sep 2019 - 15 Sep 2019 Silverstone National Download PDF
5 - 2019 27 Jul 2019 - 28 Jul 2019 Brands Hatch Indy Download PDF
4 - 2019 06 Jul 2019 - 07 Jul 2019 Croft Download PDF
3 - 2019 08 Jun 2019 - 09 Jun 2019 Anglesey International Download PDF
2 - 2019 11 May 2019 - 11 May 2019 Oulton Park International Download PDF
1 - 2019 20 Apr 2019 - 21 Apr 2019 Snetterton 300 Download PDF