Both Richard Styrin and Linda Warren were two very worthy Porsche champions for the year – Photo: Chris Valentine

2016 was an historic season: for only the second time in the club's history a female driver had won one of its classes, as Linda Warren took the Class C 924 crown; at the same time Rick Styrin became the first person to take the Class A Boxster title three times.

Rebecca Jackson had won the Class B Production Boxster title in 2013 and moved on to other series while Warren had been with us from the year before, finishing the seasons around the middle of the points table. But
2016 saw her in a new car – the red and black car that had taken Adam Croft to the title the year before – which, combined with an injection of cash from local wine retailers Fine Drinks Cooperative, plus coaching from long-time friend Styrin, produced nine podiums in a row during the first three rounds of the year.

After kicking off the year at Snetterton, the BRSCC calendar took us to circuits not often visited; we returned to Anglesey – now home to ex-924 champion Alastair Kirkham – but as a first time for many, we also raced at Castle Combe and Mallory Park.

Leighton Buzzard rivals Richard Avery and Garry Lawrence battled season-long in their chase for top-three finishes in Class A and after the dust settled at the last round, Avery took 2nd and Lawrence third.
Neither of them could get close, however, to Rick Styrin whose consistent performance across the year included 15 wins, leaving him
91.5 points ahead of Avery by the end of our Silverstone finale.

Last season's Race Boxster winner Ed Hayes was dogged by repeated engine problems, but Garry Goodwin had his best year yet with a podium in the last round. Veteran international driver Andy Hack competed in his bright orange 986; Tony Morris flew in from Singapore to put his toe in the Boxster racing waters by renting a 987 for our last round of the year.

Chairman of the Championship's organising body Nick Hull took his familiar Union flagged 987 to fifth place in the table ahead of Kevin Molyneaux in the yellow ex-Jonathan Greensmith car.

Andy Baker joined us as the sole Class B driver, having bought Michael Goodacre's silver Boxster for the Mallory round onwards – he's already indicated a desire to do a full season next year.

Joining us from 750MC Stock Hatch championship were Pip Hammond, Gavin Johnson and Ryan Lowry. Hammond had already demonstrated his excellence early in the year and Lowry made his mark with a win in his very first race in a 924 at Donington.

PDA old hands Adam Croft, Alastair Kirkham and Stephen Potts all guested at our Anglesey round – Potts so thrilled with his three podiums that he is to move back to our Class C grid having spent a year racing historics. Philip Waters, supported by ex-driver Clive Morrison's Team Moluto, was regularly on the podium while Darren House' consistent finishes landed him overall fifth; Niz El-Chamaa's early season success was curtailed by damage.

Meanwhile John Broadley finished his final season of racing with us, taking 2nd overall in the 924s behind Warren, with Hugh Peart having performed well across the season to take third. Broadley has volunteered to take on the role of BRSCC Coordinator for our championship next year.

At the end of the season we were thrilled to learn that Toyo Tires had chosen to back us as title sponsor for another three seasons – the biggest commitment a main sponsor has made to us – with supply of our R888R tyres continuing to come through Tyres (South Shore) Ltd of Blackpool. Jasmine Porshalink would also renew their relationship, taking the door number spot and continuing to supply vital parts to us in the paddock throughout the year. Hartech will again be our Boxster engine specialists, together with continuing financial support from Wharfside Electrical, while Ryan motorsport insurance and Autosport Apparel join us as new partners next season.

Chris Valentine


Race Entries
& Membership