Ed Cockill won both Fiesta A & B races, with his brother Harry coming third in each. Photo: John Cooper

A clear view of the Snowdonia Mountains provided a spectacular backdrop to a varied schedule of 18 races at Ty Croes, run by the BRSCC North Western Centre.

Competition on the Saturday commenced with a hard fought Euro Saloon race, in which the Escort Cosworth of Dave Cockell held sway from the Class B cars of Richard Hawken & Kevin Wendt.

Devonian Louise Inch put in a spirited drive in the first Mighty Mini contest to secure the win from arch championship rival Matt Pinny by less than a second. Rockingham winner Ben van den Bos continued his good form completing the podium.

Pole sitter Alex Craven was disappointed with a retirement in what turned out to be a somewhat processional BRSCC Formula 3 race, in which Mark Terry took the flag from Chris Needham.

Although low on numbers, the Super Mighty Minis were extremely entertaining. The pack split into two groups of four, in both of which the dicing was fast & close. On the final lap the lead was still being hotly contested, with Chris Morgan taking the win from Peter Crewes & Scott Kendall.

With the championship still up for grabs interest in the Pre 90 class of the Avon Tyres Formula Ford Northern Championship was high. A result of Kevin Donnelly in first, Nigel Thompson in second and Jaap Blijleven in third ensured that it would be decided by Sunday’s final round. In the Post 89 category, Jordan Skinner sealed his championship in style with a further victory, with the Class B car of John Murphy following him home.

A similar fine day greeted competitors on the Sunday as Class C (ST) of the Competition Car Insurance/Dunlop Ford Fiesta Championship got proceedings under way. By half distance Jeremy Gumbley had established a commanding lead and he continued to control the event to take the flag from Richard Durham.

The first Itchy Feet OSS championship encounter of the weekend was marked by a safety car intervention, due to a car stranded in a hazardous position on the exit of Rocket corner. A one lap dash for the line yielded a win for the Jade of Jim Hutchinson followed by the similar machine of Tony Sinclair.

The Fiesta Championship has been so strong this year that Classes A & B run seperately from the STs that make up Class C. In the first A & B encounter, consisting of Si’s & Zetecs, Ed Cockill dominated and took the win from Andrew Wilmot, with Ed’s brother Harry coming home in third.

Dave Cockell continued his good form from the previous day to take the second Arrowpak supported Euro Saloon race from Doug Ellwood’s Marcos Mantis. Kevin Wendt rounded off a good weekend with a second visit to the podium in his BMW E46 M3.

As expected the Mighty Mini’s were highly entertaining, with cars approaching Rocket three abreast on more than one occasion. Matt Pinny held his nerve to win from Chris Slade with Ben van den Bos scoring yet another podium place. Title contender Louise Inch had to be satisfied with 4th.

In BRSCC F3, Alex Craven made amends for the previous days retirement with a well controlled win in a race which included a safety car intervention due to a dangerously positioned car at Banking. He was followed home by Chris Needham, who was enjoying his second podium of the weekend.

A somewhat more sedate Super Mighty Mini race saw Chris Morgan take a second win from Peter Crewes. Morgan’s double closes the gap right up on Championship leader Scott Kendall.

In their second race of the day the Fiesta Class C competitors were three wide going into Rocket on the first lap. Close racing handed David Grady the win from Jeremy Gumbley & Richard Durham.

The OSS closed their weekend with Jim Hutchinson taking a commanding victory from Tony Sinclair & Andrew Kimpton. Although Jim Hutchinson won both races the star of the weekend was Tony Sinclair in the Jade Motorsport Jade 3, as his brace of second places clinched the inaugural OSS Championship.

Close racing at the start of the final Fiesta Si & Zetec outing left various competitors with bodywork damage. However, the final result was an exact repeat of the previous race with Andrew Wilmot separating the Cockill brothers – Ed & Harry.

With the Championship hanging on this race the two title challengers in the Pre 90 Formula Ford, John Farrell & Lee Hannam, started from the front row. Side by side action on the first lap introduced a close fought contest which saw Nigel Thompson take the win, but Farrell’s second secured him the championship from Hannam. In the Post 89 encounter Jordan Skinner took the final chequered flag of the season, to add to his impressive tally, ahead of a close duelling Martin Short & Chris Chisnall.

To view the official results Click Here

Andy Powers


Race Entries
& Membership