The David Leslie Trophy

Louth college student and Cadwell Park regular, Stephanie Watson (aged 16) was the first person to receive the new prestigious David Leslie Trophy at the circuit during the BRSCC meeting on Saturday 18th April.

David Leslie, the well known BTCC driver, was tragically killed in a plane crash in March 2008. His passion for the sport and enthusiasm to encourage youngsters into the world of motor racing, saw his helmet being donated to the British Motor Racing Marshals Club (BMMC) as a memorial trophy for the Cadet Marshal of the Year award.

The award is allocated on a regional basis to a marshal under the age of 18 years who shows outstanding enthusiasm & commitment to motorsport, with the winner going on to the national finals. Stephanie successfully won the regional round and also went on to scoop the national award! To quote the written nomination Stephanie is “A very well liked, enthusiastic, very willing Cadet Marshal who is on her way to becoming extremely experienced in many different disciplines of Marshalling at a very young age.”

Stephanie has marshalling in her blood, and follows in the footsteps of her family spanning three generations including her father Dean and grandfather John, who have both served as Chief Marshal for the BRSCC Northern Centre.

If marshalling most weekends is not enough Stephanie’s also puts her studies of journalism into good use, by editing press releases for a motorsport website during the week. BRSCC member Stephanie is rightly proud of her achievement and will treasure the cased helmet for the next 12 months until it is passed on. As one of the youngest ever marshals to be selected to marshal at the British Grand Prix Stephanie has a full calendar for the year and is looking forward to the opportunity of hopefully meeting Lewis Hamilton!

Meanwhile, at the same meeting Nathaneal Warden was presented with the Northern Centre’s Marshal of the Year Trophy.

For marshalling enquiries in the Northern Centre please contact Dean Watson on 01507 603026 or email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Race Entries
& Membership