Saturday’s 5 hour Fun Cup marathon was won by the Team Honeywell VW of Neil Plimmer and Geoff Fawcett who crossed the line 1 minute and 24 seconds ahead of the JPR/Team Norsound car driven by dan Jones, Steve Johansen and mark Hope.

Ben Seyfried took a close fought victory in the first Super Mighty Minis race from Patrick Ford after Neven Kirkpatrick and Scott Kendall had a coming together at the Esses.

Louise Inch, my driver of the day, in the best race of the weekend, was very unlucky to lose the Mighty Minis race due to a left front puncture after contact at Russell. The winner in the end was James Lyford followed by Chris Morgan.

Sunday started with a full 38 car grid of Ford Fiestas in the Competition Car Insurance backed championship, the race win going to David Ellesley in his ST from Nick Sanderson.

The Club Formula Ford race saw Rory Butcher exiting the first race with a jammed gearbox at the Esses where he sat with head in hands for the duration, but had the consolation of fastest lap. Scott Malvern took the win in his Ray. Scott also picked up the Henry Rilett Trophy presented by Chris Baker (pictured) in memory of Henry who used to be our Chief Scrutineer at Snetterton.

The second Formula Ford race, which was also a point scoring round for the Webcon UK National Championship, saw Butcher and David Grady start from the back of the grid and charge through the field. Butcher then battled through to win from Malvern and Grady.

The second Super Mighty Minis race was won by Patrick Ford from Ben Seyfried.In another excellent Mighty Minis encounter Christopher Morgan came out on top, with Louise Inch battling through from the rear of the grid to take fifth.Jason Greatrex overcame gearbox and oil leak dramas to win both Fiat Challenge races followed home in both by James Levy and Simon McFie all driving Puntos.

The Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship race resulted in Tim Lewis lapping the entire field starting from the pitlane in his Alfasud Sprint, Shaun Hazlewood came home a distant second.The second Fiesta race was a repeat result from earlier in the day with Davis Ellesley leading Nick Sanderson home in their ST’s.

The full race results can be found

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership