The BRSCC has elected to bring back the Super Classic name to motorsport and Formula Ford in 2020, after it was announced that it would feature in both the Northern and National Formula Ford Championships this season.

The Super Classic brand of Formula Ford racing first originated back in the 1990s to accommodate a wide variety of older chassis in a bit to allow owners and drivers a chance to extend their competition life further. Now more than two decades later, the BRSCC has revived the name to incorporate it into both of its Formula Ford competitions at Northern and National level. The Northern contest will see its name altered to become the Avon Tyres Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship and will feature four dedicated historical classes, while the National series will also accommodate Super Classic class cars in the same structure for its National Clubman category, with the Pro Class remaining for contemporary Formula Ford chassis built from 1999 onwards.

This season’s Northern & Super Classic class breakdown, as in 2019, will include the P Class as well as four subcategories for Super Classic, which are as follows:

Super Classic A (SCA) – for Kent engine Formula Ford chassis built between 1/1/1990 and 31/12/1998
Super Classic B (SCB) – for Kent engine Formula Ford chassis built between 1/1/1982 and 31/12/1989
Super Classic C (SCC) – for Kent engine Formula Ford chassis built between 1/1/1972 and 31/12/1981
Super Classic D (SCD) – for Kent engine Formula Ford chassis built before 1/1/1972.

P Class runners in the Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship must run the Avon ACB10 tyre, while all four Super Classic classes are permitted a choice of running either the Avon ACB9 or ACB10 tyres. In addition, if entries permit, the class structure in any Northern & Super Classic rounds may return to a Post ’89 (P Class & SCA) and Pre ’90 (SCB, SCC & SCD) structure as previously used in 2018.

Ian Smith, the championship coordinator of the Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship, gave his thoughts on the changes stating “The BRSCC ran a successful Super Classic Formula Ford Championship in the early 1990s, so why not bring the name back? It’s basically a refined version of the other series of the same nature with a better spread of eligible years of car manufacture. This opens up the class to six more build years of cars, which is surely a good thing for the formula and the drivers who thought they had nowhere to race nowadays. I believe it will definitely help cater to a wider range of machines and this should have a knock-on effect on our Formula Ford championships all round”.

Peter Daly, chairman of the BRSCC, added “As a long-time Formula Ford racer myself, it’s a category I’m extremely passionate about and well connected in, so I’m very pleased to see these changes for our Northern and National championships to allow just about any year of chassis to compete with us. Formula Ford is still a very popular form of racing across the UK and it’s important that we make sure we keep as many cars in active competition as possible. I’ve no doubt that this will see a successful rise in the number of cars racing within the BRSCC and look forward to watching its progress throughout 2020.”

The first rounds of the Northern & Super Classic Formula Ford Championship are due to be held at Oulton Park on March 28th 2020, while the National Championship is set to get underway with its opening rounds of the 2020 season at Silverstone International on April 18/19. Head to for more information on our calendar of events and the Championships themselves.


Race Entries
& Membership