Olly Wigg on his way to a double triumph in the Caterham Roadsports at Combe. Photo:

Two days, twenty-three races & good weather – what could be better than a two day BRSCC South Western Centre meeting back again at Castle Combe?

Both Caterham Roadsport races were won by Olly Wigg with David Webber and Anthony Barnes making up the top three on both occasions.

Castle Combe FF1600 was a seven car battle over 15 laps with Michael Moyer’s Spectrum heading home the train. Jonny McMullan held off the local talent to win the National FF1600 race with Patrick Dussault a close second, Dussault reversing positions on Sunday.

The GQ Caterham Academy wins went to Rui Ferreira and Andrew Perry, with Tim Dickens pulling off a hard fought win in Saturday’s Avon Tyres Caterham Tracksport race. Dan Gore out-paced his rivals on Sunday to secure a well-deserved win.

Phillip Jenkins took a close Sunday win from Clive Richards in the Caterham Supersports encounter, Stephen Nuttall’s Saturday victory being confirmed in the steward’s room.

Mark Kemp romped home in the Toyo Tires Honda VTEC race with David Nash victorious In the Smartcar class which he repeated on Sunday; Robert Burkinshaw bagged the Honda victory on day two.

Sunday’s first Fiesta wins went to JJ Ross in the Jam-Sport backed seniors and Nathan Edwards in the Juniors. Ross repeated the victory in Race 2, with Michael Higgs taking the FJC honours.

Steve Hall took the win in the well supported Combe GT & Sports encounter in his Audi TT from Oliver Bull and Adam Prebble, whose brother Garry took victory in the Combe Saloons from last round winner Tony Hutchings in yet another Audi TT.

Both Mighty Minis championships produced two cracking races on Sunday. Liam Sullivan won both standard class races and reigning champion Jamie White was also a double winner in the Supers.

Finally, the South Western Centre has many ‘thank yous’ for helping put on a fabulous two days of racing. Most importantly, thanks must go to all the dedicated marshals whose commitment made this busy timetable become reality and a resounding success. Drew Furlong for setting the challenge – we all wish him well for his new role at BARC. To all our friends at Castle Combe Circuit and Racing Club for their support. BRSCC HQ Staff and officials, Doctor’s, Recovery Crew, Rescue, the list is endless……

All the race results, qualifying times, lap charts and analysis can be viewed Combe Race Weekend.

That’s it for 2015 in the South West, here’s to an even better 2016. Come and join us!!

Ian Danaher


Race Entries
& Membership