Scotsman Rory Bryant won both Class C Fiesta races at Snetterton. Photo: Mark Callf www.markcallf.co.uk

Sunny weather greeted the BRSCC East Anglian Centre to its first visit to Snetterton this season. Resurfacing had taken place the week before the meeting, notably at Riches and Coram with new kerbing at Russell.

On Saturday the first 2 hours of the Fun Cup 4 Hours was led by the Happy Racing entry of Jason Porter and Max Hunter, who were then overtaken by Neil Plimmer and Geoff Fawcett from Team Honeywell, who stayed in the lead until the end.

The first Caterham Holland Invitation race was a lively affair with the first and second place cars of Robert Cooper and Robert Smith spinning out on the penultimate lap to third and fourth, leaving Nathan Lindop and Jonathan Smare to collect the spoils.

The Ma5da MX5 qualifying had to be moved from the end of the day to Sunday as an errant Ford Fiesta managed to demolish a large amount of the Sear corner Armco leaving no time for safe repairs. The Snetterton staff worked late into the night and everything was ship shape for Sunday morning.

The packed grid of Ma5da MX5 Championship Group C v A cars was run in the wet with Robert Boston winning ahead of Jonathan Greensmith and Chris Dawkins.

The second Caterham Holland Invitation race saw Nathan Lindop win again this time ahead of Robert Smith with Toon Rutgers the highest placed Dutchman in each race.

The first of two Competition Car Insurance Ford Fiesta Championship Class C races was won by Rory Bryant just ahead of Jeremy Gumbley, and the pair went on to repeat the result in the second race. Mark Tilbury & Terence Clark completed the podium in the first & second Class C races.

With a now drying track the Caterham Allcomers & Ma5da MX5 Cup saw victory for Paul Fleury from Ollie Taylor in Caterhams and Paul Sheard from Kevin Middleton in MX5 Mk3’s. The second encounter yielded the same result, both races having good grids and featuring close racing throughout.

The first Ford Fiesta Class A & B race was won by Andrew Wilmot from Ruari Fairbairns. In race two, pole-sitter Wilmot decided to do an extra green flag lap thus starting from the back of the grid. He clawed his way back up to as high fourth at one point but slipped back to ninth at the finish. The win went to Richard Durham with Tim Bennett second.

The SRCC Sports 2000 Duratecs fielded a decent sized grid with a runaway win for Neil Burroughs in his Gunn TS10 from a distant Patrick Sherrington.

A safety car interlude was required to snatch one of the Ma5da MX5 Group B cars after an off at Riches, the capacity grid resulting in many excellent dices throughout the field. Reigning champion Tom Roche just won ahead of Phil House.

The Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship race saw victory going to Chris Snowdon in his 33 with Alastair Iles’ 147 GTA finishing close behind.

In SRRC Sports 2000 Pinto, a close fought duel between David Houghton’s Van Diemen, and Andy Mathew’s Shrike went the way of the latter as Houghton faded in the later stages of the race.

The best race of the day for me came in the last race for Ma5da MX5 Group A v B. A capacity grid again and close racing through the field resulting in Championship leader Robert Boston winning closely followed by Tom Roche.

All in all this was one of the best meetings run to tight timescales with good grids the Centre has run for a long time. The full results can be found at Click Here

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership