It is beginning to look as though history may repeat itself in the BRSCC Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship which had its first woman champion, Mel Healey, in 2010. This year's title chase is being led by Emma Karwacki in her NJS Racing prepared 147 in which she has dominated Class E since a double header at Cadwell in May. Six wins in the last seven races has given her a 20 point lead over her partner Neil Smith with early leader Mel Healey back in third ahead of James Thomas.

At MSVR's Brands Hatch GP circuit meeting last Saturday, Neil Smith had built himself a comfortable overall lead in the 25 minute race before a safety car period closed the field up. This allowed Anthony George's 156 turbo, that had started at the back of the grid after having to qualify out of session, the possibility of mounting a strong challenge. Sadly Neil was to suffer a broken injector almost as soon as the safety car had come in and this left Anthony an unopposed victory.

However, there was a splendid battle for second place between Clive Hodgkin (who had raced in 1987 the first time the Championship visited the GP circuit) in his 75 3 litre and Paul Plant's 147 with which he has been racing in Europe this year. Clive eventually led Paul home by just 4 seconds followed by John Griffiths (156) and Barry McMahon (GTV) who had an equally enthralling scrap.

As usual Class E entertained us and at one point it looked as though Dave Messenger (156) would wrest the lead away from Emma Karwacki but Emma was playing a wily game and Dave couldn't see a way by. Other class winners were Nick Anderson (33) and Ron Davidson (GTV) while the invitation Fiat Punto Abarth class went to Alistair Kellett.

The final three rounds are at Mallory Park (September 18), Silverstone Britcar 24 hours meeting (October 1) and Rockingham (October 16).

For more information CLICK HERE


Race Entries
& Membership