Chrissy Palmer on his way to winning the 38th Festival. Photo: Jakob Ebrey Photography

The BRSCC South Eastern Centre will run the 39th Formula Ford Festival at Brands Hatch this weekend, although in truth the meeting really started on Tuesday when the teams started to roll in for testing.

It was just three weeks ago at Brands Hatch that Australian Scott Pye, driving a Mygale for the Jamun Racing team, edged out rival Scott Malvern to claim 2010 Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain. Both protagonists will be back on the grid to renew their rivalry this weekend with Malvern no doubt doubly determined to gain the kudos associated with winning the Festival.

Whoever emerges victorious in the twilight of late Sunday afternoon will be in good company! Jenson Button, Mark Webber, Eddie Irvine, Anthony Davidson, Roland Ratzenberger and Johnny Herbert are all names on the Festival’s roll of honour.

Another Australian is one of the favourites for the Kent title. Jordan Skinner has carried all before him in the BRSCC’s Formula Ford Kent championships, achieving a triple of the Northern, Southern and National titles. However, Skinner faces a stiff challenge from a few seasoned veterans, particularly from across the water, who will be out to prove that Festival experience counts.

In the Zetec category, Neil Tofts could achieve his own piece of Festival history as he goes all out for a hat-trick following his wins in 2008 & 2009.

Supporting the Formula Fords are the Competition Car Insurance Ford Fiesta Championship, the BRSCC F3 Series and the Duratec, Pinto & Historic classes of the Sports 2000 Championship.


Race Entries
& Membership