Mark Webber is a very worthy winner of the JN Trophy. Photo:

Mark Webber was named as the winner of the BRSCC John Nicol Memorial Trophy at the Club’s Awards Dinner Dance for the 2013 season, which was held at the Holiday Inn, Stratford-upon-Avon, on Saturday night. The trophy, named in honour of John Nicol, a former Chief Executive of the BRSCC, was received on behalf of Mark by his good friend Wendy Jennings, from John’s widow Debs Nicol.

In announcing the award, BRSCC Chairman Bernard Cottrell said, "Although Mark closed the door on one aspect of his motorsport career at the end of the 2013 season, he will start afresh on the next chapter of his glittering career at the BRSCC run FIA WEC meeting at Silverstone over Easter Weekend.

Coming to the UK from his native Australia in the mid-90s, Mark first raced in our Formula Ford championship and really made a name for himself by winning the 1996 Formula Ford Festival in a Van Diemen. His career progressed quickly from there through F3, GTs and F300 before he made his F1 debut with Minardi at his home Grand Prix at Melbourne in 2002.

His F1 career from there is well documented but it is worth highlighting that in his 12-year stay at the pinnacle of the sport, Mark started 215 Grand Prix and amassed nine victories.

Although a highly dedicated professional with the determination to succeed, he has the rare ability to combine this drive with a ‘down to earth attitude’, qualities which have made him so popular with fans across the globe and the perfect ambassador for motorsport. He is therefore, a very worthy winner of the ‘JN’ Trophy”.

BRSCC Clerk of the Course, Derek Stanley, won the Bert Lamkin Memorial Salver in recognition of the service he has given to the Club and Colin Barnes was presented with the GPDA Monty Terrell Trophy as the 2013 Flag Marshal of the Year.

A special presentation was also made to Tom Dooley from the North Western Centre to mark 60 years of service to the BRSCC.

Over 350 guests attended the dinner and we will have news and photos of more awards later in the week.


Race Entries
& Membership