Drivers, officials and marshals from the BRSCC North Western Centre gathered at The Park Royal Hotel, Warrington, on Saturday night to celebrate the 2010 season.

The evening started with the awards presentations for the Avon Tyres Formula Ford 1600 Northern Championship and many winners were there to receive their trophies including Class winners Ian Parkington (E), John Farrell (C), Mike Bennett (B) with John Farrell also picking up the Pre 90 Champion’s Trophy. Unfortunately Jordan Skinner was still racing in the Antipodes and could not pick up his many awards.

The awards continued with the presentation of the Champion of Oulton and Star of Anglesey trophies and Richard Peacock presented The Graham Peacock Award to John Murphy. The final set of drivers’ awards were for the BRS Recovery XR Challenge and it was great to see how well this was supported by the competitors with John Ifan-Jones collecting the XR3i trophy and XR2 champion Paul Bishop receiving the overall XR Challenge Cup.

After an excellent dinner the North West Centre Awards were presented by BRSCC Chairman Bernard Cottrell. Karen Brand became Lady Marshal of the Year whilst ‘The Achiever of the Year’ went to Dave Cleaveley who does sterling work managing the North West marshals’ database as well as being one of Race Control's radio people.

The Moose Trophy (in memory of Colin Benn) was also presented. Usually this goes to the winner of The Moose Trophy Race but unfortunately it did not take place in 2010 but ‘Moose’ always appreciated the great deal of work done behind the scenes by officials, marshals and co-ordinators, so the richly deserving recipient was Matt Hawkins the Northern Formula Ford co-ordinator.

The formalities finished with a raffle, with many donations again acquired by Graham Lindley, the Centre’s Chief Assembly Marshal. A great evening was then rounded off with dancing well into the morning for those with enough energy!


Race Entries
& Membership