Jordan Skinner will be a challenge to the old guard at Oulton. Photo:Dave English

The BRSCC’s Avon Tyres backed Formula Ford 1600cc Northern Championship heads to Oulton Park tomorrow for the opening two rounds of what as ever will be a fiercely contested championship.

The Championship consists of two categories depending on when the cars were built. Post 89 is for cars built after 1989 and Pre 90 is for cars produced before 1990. Within Post 89 there are two classes, A & B, which again cater for older and newer cars within that period. In the Pre 90 category there are a further three classes (C, D & E) to accommodate cars built from before 1984 right up to 1989.

Simon Kinsey from Holmes Chapel won the Post 89 Championship last year in his Van Diemen RF01 and he is back to defend his title this season albeit in an RF00. However, Simon will face stiff competition from young Australian Jordan Skinner who was very impressive in winning the opening Southern Championship round at Silverstone two weeks ago.

Ian Parkington from Nelson, Lancashire, won the 2009 Pre 90 title and he is also back again. However, he has moved from Class D to Class E and will this year be campaigning a Royale RP26 and not the Reynard FF84.

Tomorrow’s races at the Time Attack meeting will also be points scoring rounds towards deciding who is the ‘Champion of Oulton’ which is contested over the 5 double header rounds of the Championship hosted at the Cheshire circuit. The other four rounds of the Northern Championship are at Anglesey.

For more information about the Northern Championship please contact the co-ordinator, Matt Hawkins, on 07970 524394 or email

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Championship updates can also be found on FORMULA FORD or BRSCC NORTH WEST


Race Entries
& Membership