The BRSCC North Western Centre laid on a varied and entertaining meeting at Oulton Park on 11th July. To the relief of everyone, especially the marshals, the forecasted afternoon of heavy rain never materialised. A period of drizzle during qualifying was the only precipitation during the day.

The Competition Car Insurance Ford Fiesta Championship encounter provided some spectacular dicing. Terence Clark held the lead initially in his Class C ST model but before long he had been reeled-in by the similar cars of Nick Sanderson and pole-man David Ellesley. Sanderson took the lead just after half distance but a couple of laps later a bad dose of understeer exiting Hislops saw him slip to third behind Clark and Ellesley. David Nye’s Fiesta Si dominated Class A while there was a titanic battle in the Zetecs (B Class) which Lee Brett won just ahead of Scott Baines. The Class A car of Rex Nye joined in their fun and even spun in-front of them on one occasion.

Reigning BRSCC Formula Jedi Champion, Jack Smith, had his work cut out as mechanical troubles in practice put him at the back of the grid for both of the Jedi races. Once racing started he was by far the fastest driver out there and went on to record fourth and second place finishes. Richard Gittings won the first race but suffered a driveshaft failure when the red lights went out second time around meaning Stuart Abbott took the other set of Jedi laurels.

Mike Jenvey’s Gunn TS6 led the MARCH Racing Academy Sports 2000 Duratec runners throughout however he had trouble lapping backmarkers in the closing stages which enabled the Van Dieman of Richard Johnson to close in and get a sling-shot out of the final corner. They finished just 0.034 secs apart at the line. There was more Sports 2000 action when the SRCC Pinto’s and the Xennia sponsored Historic cars twice ran together. First time out the Historic Tiga SC80 driven by Patrick Sherrington took the victory. James Barclay’s Class A Swift DB2 retired from second on lap 2 handing that class to Andy Mathew’s Shrike P16. The results were declared as at 6 tours after the Safety Car and then red flags were deployed because a gaggle of midfielders had collided at Hislops and Lew Wright required medical attention. Barclay returned in the final encounter of the day to claim victory with Sherrington in his wheel-tracks. Paul Streat’s Swift DB2 took the Class B spoils on both outings.

Ian Parkington (Class D) comfortably won the Creative LED Solutions NWFF1600 race for Pre-’90 models. John Farrell was second at the end of lap 1 but was demoted by Nigel Thompson (Class C victor) and Justin Dawkins. The latter spun down the order on the exit of Cascades on lap 8. The NWFF1600 contest for more recent cars also scored points in the Webcon UK sponsored National Club NWFF1600 series. This enticed Rory Butcher and Scott Malvern to Cheshire and it was these two who battled at the head of the pack. A mistake at Druids by Butcher allowed Malvern to slip through. They were the B and A Class winners respectively.

Simon Robinson’s Fiesta led the XR Challenge round throughout. Early on he was put under pressure by Chris Jones and Michael Blackburn but both fell by the wayside. Andrew Lennie was the first Escort home.

The full results for the meeting can be found at:www.tsl-timing.com/brscc/2009/92831.pdf


Race Entries
& Membership