The BRSCC Porsche champions of 2016 were crowned this past Saturday night – Photo: Chris Valentine

This past Saturday saw drivers, teams, friends and families associated with the Porsche Racing Drivers Association and the Toyo Tires Porsche Championship gathered this past Saturday evening to celebrate another year of competition at their annual Awards dinner for the 2016 season.

The evening, taking place at The Links Hotel in Cromer, Norfolk, saw Eurosport commentator and Downforce Radio's Jake Sanson as a guest speaker for the evening, as he assisted in crowning the top 3 in both the Race Boxster and 924 classes as well as the champion of Class B for Production Boxsters. The night was primarily hosted by PDA chairman Nick Hull, also a racer himself in the Race Boxster class, as he presented the drivers with their trophies.

Richard Styrin was in attendance to officially be crowned as a 3-time Race Boxster champion, the first driver in the Championships' history to have won that number of class titles – a wondferful legacy for Richard to leave as he now moves on to a new challenge in the Mazda MX-5 SuperCup to join fellow Boxster champion Jonathan Greensmith. Richard Avery attended to pick up a hard fought 2nd place while Garry Lawrence was his usually happy and smiling self as he collected his 3rd place trophy.

With the 924 class, much was made of the success of Linda Warren who became only the second ever female champion in the Porsche Championship since Rebecca Jackson's Production Boxster success a few years ago. John Broadley received his 2nd place trophy, however 3rd placed Hugh Peart was unable to attend to receive his prize. As the sole runner in the Production Boxster class all season, Andrew Baker was able to collect the Class B title despite having only appeared at a handful of meetings!

Both Styrin and Warren will have to dust off their tuxedo and party dress respectively once again this coming weekend as the great and the good of the BRSCC descends on Stratford-upon-Avon once more for the 2016 Championship Awards on Saturday 4th February.


Race Entries
& Membership