The Beechdean squad show off their trophy haul at Silvesrtone. Photo:

The Beechdean AMR team comprising of Andrew Howard, Jonny Adam, Harry Whale, Jamie Chadwick and Ross Gunn (all GB) were the victors of the Britcar Dunlop 24-hour race at Silverstone yesterday.

When the chequered flag was waved at 16:04 yesterday afternoon the Beechdean Aston Martin Vantage had a five lap advantage over the Dutch St Bas Koeten racing team trio of Karel Gijs Bessen, Harry Hilders and Roger Grouwels in their Seat Leon.

Another Dutch squad, Cor Euser Racing, completed the podium with their Lotus Evora a further five laps adrift piloted by their multi-national driver line-up of Hal Prewitt, (USA), Jim Brody (USA), Alistair Mackinnon (GB), Dirk Schulz (NL) and Sam Allpass (GB).

The Team LNT Ginetta LMP3 driven by Lawrence Tomlinson, Sir Chris Hoy, Mike Simpson, Charlie Robertson (all GB) and Frenchman Gaetan Paletou, led at the halfway stage before their challenge was effectively brought to a halt just after 5am when they made unavoidable contact with another car. The resulting damage left the Ginetta stranded in the pits for about four hours but they did recover to record the fastest lap of the race with Charlie Robertson at the wheel in the penultimate hour.

Great credit goes to all the drivers for their professionalism in handling the very difficult conditions, particularly during the massive storm around the five-hour mark, when the Safety Car had to be deployed with its speed reduced to just 35mph!
On the subject of professionalism, we are of course indebted to all the marshals who as ever did a fantastic job in trying conditions.

You can see all the stats for the race at Britcar 24-hours results


Race Entries
& Membership