Rob Boston dominated the opening two rounds of the MX5 Cup. Photo: Jonathan Elsey Photography.

Mazdas and Caterhams were the cars of choice of cars for the Sunday part of the Midland Centre’s first meeting of the year at Silverstone, which took place in bright and dry Spring weather.

First race of the day was the Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsports B Championship which saw a blanket finish of less than a second covering, in finishing order, Wesley Fox, Kurt Brady and Mike Hart all well ahead of the following field.

Running on the full Grand Prix circuit allowed for some big grids to line-up, with a field of 58 starters setting off on the first of two Ma5da MX5 Cup races. Robert Boston took a comfortable win over Luke Herbert and the battling Jim Edwards Junior and Adam Gore – all in the Mk3 version of the MX5. Wayne Le Montais lead home Sam Hill in the invitation class for Mk1s. The second race produced the same top two but this time Tom Roche took the final podium place albeit some thirteen seconds adrift of Herbert.

Back to the Ma5da MX5 Championship, Groups A & D saw a win for Tom Roche by nearly 5 seconds over Wayne Le Montais and a closely following Brian Chandler and Paul Sheard.

Caterham provided another close finish in the form of the Supersports Championship with Jamie Orton taking the spoils of victory over Jeremy Webb and Lee Wiggins. Again less than 1 second covering all three. In the Roadsport A class of the race Ian Payne won with Anthony Sidney-Woollett and Peter Young completing the podium.

Groups B and C of the Ma5das had Adam Gore and Alan Henderson pull away from the rest of the field with Gore taking the victory by a mere 0.133 seconds with Sam Hill third.

The second Caterham Roadsport B race saw Kurt Brady go one place better than his first result, this time heading Jonathan Mortimer over the line. Mike Hart was third with Wesley Fox fourth and Aaron Head fifth. All top five finishers being within less than a second of the winner. As usual it is certainly shaping up to be a very competitive Roadsport B season.

The final Caterham Roadsport/Supersports race of the day gave Lee Wiggins a close call victory over Steve Day with an equally close Sean Byrne following on in third. Ian Payne again won the Roadsport A class from Adam Bettinson with Sidney-Woollett third.

The final two Ma5da MX5 Championship races (C v D & A v B) had to be postponed after an incident on the first lap of the C v D race.

Amongst the Britcar action on Saturday the Alfashop Alfa Romeo season got underway with 22 cars lining up on the grid following the morning qualifying session. Roger Evans (Class A1) from Derbyshire showed a clean pair of heels to the opposition bringing his GTV home over a minute ahead of Chris Snowdon (Class A2) and Stephen Dymoke (Class A2). Clive Hodgkin (Class B), Graham Seager (Class C) and Mel Healey (Class E) took class wins and Clive Pratt won the Invitation Class in a Fiat Punto.

The full results can be viewed HERE


Race Entries
& Membership