With support from Webheads and Jasmine Porschalink, the Toyo Tyres Porsche Championship is looking strong this year. Photo: www.dennisgoodwinphotography.com

The BRSCC Midland Centre are back at Silverstone this weekend, this time on the National circuit, for a two day meeting featuring 20 races. A very impressive entry of 207 cars will descend on the Northamptonshire circuit – a great effort from all the drivers concerned!

The Mighty & Super Mighty Minis make their second appearance of the season, following their Castle Combe opener on Easter Monday. Jonathan Lewis and Damien Harrington shared the victory spoils, with Lewis winning the first race with Harrington in hot pursuit. The roles were reversed for the second outing so they will both be hoping to have an outright championship lead after this weekend’s double-header.

In the Supers, Pat Ford is the undisputed leader having won both rounds at Combe. However, Supers are nothing if not competitive so the Leeds driver knows he will have a fight on his hands. Jamie White and veteran Bob Bennetts are the early chasers but there is so much quality in the pack that the challenge could come from anyone.

In the Alfashop backed Alfa Romeo Championship, Rockingham race winner Chris Snowden is absent, so second placed man Darelle Wilson will be hoping to take advantage. Darelle’s car is the first diesel to compete in the championship since 2004. He will however have to fend off challenges from fellow Class B campaigner John Griffiths and Class C winner, and 2012 champion, Roger Evans.

The usual eclectic mixture of manufacturers and marques will line-up on the National circuit grid for the Arrowpak Euro Saloon & Sports Car Championship double-header. Paul Rose dominated the opening two rounds at Rockingham in his 2-Litre Saker. Also running in a Saker, Steve Harris looks the best placed driver to challenge Rose’s dominance but there should also be some entertaining battles throughout the field.

With new support from sponsors Toyo Tyres, the Porsche Championship has made a very promising start to the season and this will continue this weekend with another strong entry. 2012 champion Ric Styrin had mixed fortunes at Rockingham – throttle pedal failure put paid to his efforts to make a winning start, with Steven Boyles taking advantage to record his first ever Boxster win. Styrin was back on form for the second & third outings and it will be interesting to see who will take the challenge to the Yorkshireman this weekend. Class B victor at Rockingham, Bernie Printy, is AWOL, so Rebecca Jackson could make a winning debut in the Production Boxsters class. There is a great battle shaping up in the 924 class. Hen Sharpe took two class wins at Rockingham, with debutant Clive Morison taking the other. However, Simon Hawksley and Tony Mekwinski didn’t get the points their pace deserved.

Two big stories regarding the Formula Jedi Championship this weekend – firstly a very encouraging entry of 19 cars and secondly the return of Jodie Hemmings, who won the 600cc class in 2004 and was then runner-up in the senior class a year later. Jodie is aiming to race for the full campaign but she will have to be on her best form to compete with the early pace-setter Lee Morgan who won both Rockingham rounds last month.

31 Fiesta STs will line-up in the Class C races of the Vortex and Dunlop backed Ford Fiesta Championship. David Ellesley was a man on a mission at Rockingham taking both wins, but Nick Bowers and Aaron Trigwell will be determined to trim the points deficit. The sheer amount of cars out on the track, allied to the quality of the drivers, means that anything can happen! In the A, B & D classes of the Fiesta Championship David Abbott has dominated in his Class D Zetec S. However, at Silverstone he will have some competition as James Appleby joins the Class D fray. Ian Scruton and Andrew Mollison are the early leaders in Classes A & B respectively.

The Fiesta Juniors will field their biggest grid of the season and it will include Aaron Thompson, making his debut. However, Aaron will have to wait until Sunday to participate as it’s his 14thbirthday and his junior licence won’t be valid until then. James JJ Ross leads the early table by six points from Rory Collingbourne.

The drivers in the Dunlop TVR Challenge have been counting down to this weekend throughout the winter, as this is their season opener. 2012 champion Tim Davis has moved up from Class B to Class A and he will be amongst the favourites again. However, he can expect a stern examination of his credentials from the likes of Dean Cook, Dave Chant, Michael Saunders and Jason Clegg, who were all title contenders last season.

For the Final Instructions, entry lists and timetables go to http://www.brscc.co.uk/SILVERSTONE—BRSCC-RACE-WEEKEND-16-09-88


Race Entries
& Membership