DPR's Paul Wilson will be out to build on his great start in Caterham Superlights. Photo: Rick Wilson Photography.

Oulton Park is the venue for this weekend’s BRSCC action with our North Western Centre running their second meeting of the season at the Tarporley track. The Saturday raceday consists of ten races – a single race each for Northern Formula Ford Pre 90 & Post 89 and double-headers for the four Caterham championships.

The Avon Tyres backed Supersport Championship gets the race schedule underway. Kent driver Jeremy Webb heads the championship table, though he is equal on points with student Aaron Head. Webb has the advantage from a first and second at Silverstone in a very strong start to the season for the former Roadsport champion. McMillan Motorsport’s Carlton Brown was predicted to do well at Silverstone as the lap record holder and a second and fifth are enough to put him in third on the leader board.

Caterham Roadsports are next up and the formbook did not disappoint in the first round under Silverstone’s sunshine last month. Suffolk based 2011 Academy champion, Elliott Norris, in his distinctive black and fool’s-gold #11 car, was the only one to appear on the podium in both Roadsport races and he will be hoping to put some space between him and the other race winner, Brad Smith.

In the Superlight R300s, Paul Wilson’s season could not have got off to a better start, with two dominant wins. The green DPR Motorsport #32 car left the field in his wake at Silverstone and Wilson has quickly established himself as the man to beat. Wilson’s team-mate Mark Shaw is the driver most likely to upset Wilson’s charge. The Scotsman was exceptionally fast throughout 2011, though sporadic results damaged his championship campaign.

Race 4 sees a break in the Caterham action with the Post 89 Northern Formula Fords let loose for a 20-minute blast and they will all be hoping for better fortune than the season opener when two start line incidents caused mayhem. After the dust had cleared, a delighted Luke Cooper took the win. However, it is Neil Winn who arrives at Oulton topping the points table having followed up a second place finish in race one with his debut victory in race two.

Tracksport is a new name for the Caterham Motorsport ladder in 2012 and Jaguar test driver Mike Hart started his third year of competition in near perfection with two wins on the opening weekend at Silverstone, but the facts of the results do not tell the full story. Mike’s black and red McMillan Motorsport prepared car finished just 0.005s ahead of team-mate Jon Mortimer’s more menacingly matt-black #46 and Mortimer will be determined to come out on top this time.

The Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Pre 90 Championship got off to fantastic start last month with almost a full grid of cars for the brace of encounters. Barry Linley and Stuart Jones were the respective race winners but the field was so competitive it would be foolhardy to make predictions as to who might succeed John Loebell as champion.

For the timetable, Final Instructions, entry lists and Paddock plan go to;—CATERHAM-RACEDAY-14-10-92


Race Entries
& Membership