Louise Eccles was presented with the East Anglian Centre Marshal of the Year Trophy by Jamie Hopper.

The 2014 BRSCC East Anglian Centre Marshals Dinner and Awards evening took place at Thurston Grange Hotel in Bury St Edmunds on Saturday evening.

Centre Chairman Mike Whitney opened proceedings and welcomed the guest of honour, Snetterton circuit manager Jamie Hopper. After the usual excellent meal, Steve Webb presented the Orwell Truck and Van Trophy to Trainee Marshal of the year Jamie Bardwell. Jamie Hopper stepped up next to present the Leslie Manning Flag Marshal of the year award to Will Townsend.

After their prompt actions at a Formula Ford incident at Coram where a driver suffered a heart attack, the Clive Loveday Award was presented by Snetterton Paramedic Barry Hart to Mark Winterbone and Mark Spratt.

Kay Huskinson and Karl Peterson were next up to collect the Graham Dawkins Trophy. Centre stalwart Tony Weatherley was surprised to be presented with the Harlequin Trophy, well deserved after all his hard work for the Centre. Jamie Hopper was then back on stage again to present the Marshal of the Year award to Louise Eccles.

Linda Stearn then presented the Annual Commanders Bar badges to those marshals who qualified. A large collection of raffle prizes were then given out, many thanks to those that made donations towards this.

The comedy duo of ‘Little and Large’ (Rodwell and Steele) then performed for half an hour before they were dragged off!
Lastly, many thanks are due to the tireless work of many behind the scenes without whom this event would not happen, namely Peter and Glynis Rodwell, David and Claire Steele, Mike Whitney, Claire Hepple and Ruth Drummond.

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership