Jeremy Webb dramatically won the Caterham Roadsport B title from Lee Wiggins. Photo: Caterham Motorsport

The BRSCC East Anglian Centre’s final weekend of the year on what will be the old Snetterton layout opened under cloudy skies with six different championships still up for grabs.

The Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsport A featured close racing throughout on both days with JJ O’Malley taking the flag just ahead of Jonathan Ramsey on Saturday with Ramsey going one better on Sunday, followed by Richard Boughton. Jamie Orton’s 4th place on Saturday was enough to secure him the title ahead of O’Malley and Graham Johnson.

The first Formula Jedi race was won by Richard Mitcham who finished well ahead of Richard Gittings. Mitcham repeated the feat on Sunday ahead of Jack Smith after the race start was delayed to allow the field to change to wets. Andrew Dunn would not necessarily consider a return of 4th and 7th a good weekends work but on this occasion it was more than enough to secure the Scott the Jedi title.

Lee Wiggins suffered what must seem like a recurring nightmare in the Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsport B Championship. For the second season running (Academy last year) he lost a title that looked like his to rival Jeremy Webb in the very last race. Reece Somerfield won the first encounter but Webb’s victory in race 2, allied to an extra point for fastest lap and Wiggins finishing fourth was just enough for Webb to snatch the title – again!

Dave Clark won both Porsche Championship races and with it the overall title as well as the Boxster class. Jayson Flegg and Andrew Hannington took the spoils in their 924’s on each day. Hannington was already assured of the 924 title but Flegg’s victory meant he lost out on the overall crown to Clark.

There was high drama in both the Mighty Mini Championships. Louise Inch looked like she had done enough to secure the title with victory on Saturday and second on Sunday behind Peter Bonas. However, Inch was excluded after the second race for a technical infringement which handed the title to Matt Pinny, who recorded second and third places finishes.

In the Supers, Scott Kendall was crowned champion by a very tight margin from Chris Morgan. Kendall finished third to Morgan’s fourth in the first race with Elliot Stafford taking the honours. Morgan won the decider but Kendall claimed fourth which was just enough to be the champion.

The Euro Saloon & Sports Car Championship race was won by Peter Challis in his Nissan Primera with Mark Chilton’s Porsche 993 in second and Richard Hawken third. Nick Hayes was confirmed as the champion at the last meeting.

With Caterham Supersport champion James MacLachlan taking a break the limelight fell on Nathan Lindop who secured the runners-up spot with a win on Saturday and second behind Donald Lamb on Sunday. Lindop also collected the Peter Swinger Memorial Trophy for Saturday’s win.

The Itchy Feet OSS Championship entrants were racing for the Archie Scott Brown Trophy which would be awarded on a points basis over the two races. Saturday’s race was red flagged on lap 2 due to rain. At the restart Tony Sinclair’s Jade 3 disappeared into the distance, winning by 21 seconds from Michael Woodcock. Race 2 saw Sinclair win again this time from Nick Bass therefore picking up the Archie Scott Brown Trophy for the second year running.

The full results can be found here Click Here

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership