Pat Ford on his way to ending Elliot Stafford's winning run. Photo:Lianne Norfolk.

A total of ten races were served up for the Bank Holiday crowd on the new Snetterton 200 circuit last weekend, including a five hour endurance race for the FunCup, which now boasts championship status.

The action started with the first of three Saker races, which was the UK debut for the new series that comes from the same stable as FunCup. Saker has been running in Holland for some time so it was no great surprise that Derwin Belt put all his experience to use which resulted in a hat-trick of wins for the Dutchman.

In first Mighty Minis race London domiciled Scotsman Michael Dryden scored his first victory of his Mighty Minis career holding off fellow Scot Peter Tervet and Mark Burnett. The Scottish duo also scored well in the second outing with Tervet maintaining second place and Dryden settling for the third step of the podium. Northampton’s Ade Tuckley was the race winner to confirm his full assault on the title.

The two races for the opening rounds of the Dunlop TVR Challenge saw the same three drivers dominate the top places. Jamie Golby was first and second, Hugh Marshall was second and first with the consistent Darren Smith third on each occasion. The other consistent factor was that the car of choice for all three was a TVR Tuscan.

Super Mighty Mini regular Elliot Stafford continued his impressive start to the season with a win in the first race, which was his third in a row. Gary Patterson and Pat Ford filled the remaining two podium steps. It was Ford that brought Stafford’s 100% record to an end, demoting the Bury St Edmunds flyer to second place with Scott Kendall in third.

At the end of the fifth hour of the FunCup race it was the Team Honeywell drivers Neil Plimmer and Geoff Fawcett who were ahead of the pack. The gap to the second place Track Torque Direct Accident Management team pairing of Neil Primrose and Tim Hartland was just one minute and twenty six seconds! The Nigel Greensall/Thomas Ritter/Julian Thomas trio set the fastest lap of the race but had to settle for third place.

For the official results CLICK HERE


Race Entries
& Membership