The iconic Spa circuit is always popular with Formula Ford drivers. Photo:

There will be a truly international feel to the Formula Ford paddock at Spa-Francorchamps later this week (6/7th July) for the Belgian leg of the Formula Ford EuroCup. The event marks the mainland Europe race debut for the new EcoBoost Formula Ford chassis.

Drivers from the Netherlands, Belgium, France, Denmark and Norway will be joining their counterparts from the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain – including its two drivers from South America – for the trio of races around the 7km Belgian Grand Prix circuit, which will be followed a week later by further EuroCup action at the Zandvoort Masters meeting in the Netherlands.

Jake Cook will be leading contender from the UK, and the 18-year-old from Rotherham is relishing the prospect: “I love Spa and can’t wait to race around there. I’ve always gone well at Zandvoort also. I always love racing abroad, the tracks are great and I have gone well in the past, so I’m hoping for some wins.”

Jake will be joined in Belgium by his Mygale EcoBoost-driving Jamun Racing team-mate Eric Lichtenstein from Argentina, with Cullen Motorsport’s Ryan Cullen in action also, along with JTR’s Ecuadorian driver Julio Moreno.

Sixteen-year-old Dutchman Jos Kiekens, who won the EuroCup Duratec trophy at Brands Hatch last month, will be racing again for the Provily Racing team, alongside veteran driver Michel Florie, while GEVA Racing will field entries for Max van Splunteren and Bart van Os and their Duratec Mygales.

Belgian motorsport journalist Jurgen Evers will be making his EuroCup debut alongside his countryman Laurent Poncin, and there are entries also from Danish drivers Frank and Sander Mortensen, in a Ray and a Van Diemen respectively, and French pilots Patrick Rausch and Eric Heudicourt.

Talented young Norwegian Falco Wauer, whose Formula Ford GB debut at Brands Hatch was all too brief, returns at the wheel of an Enigma Motorsport Duratec Mygale alongside Essex racer George Blundell. Fluid Motorsport will field a Van Diemen for France-based Brit Matt Rao, while British Zetec racers Matt and Ryan Hayes are due on track also with their Jamuns.

Spa-Francorchamps timetable:

Thursday 5 July: 0900 & 1300 free practice
Friday 6 July: 1130 qualifying; 1435 race 1
Saturday 7 July: 1005 race 2; 1450 race 3

For more information visit


Race Entries
& Membership