Graeme Fowler (left) receives the GPDA Trophy from Bernard Cottrell. Photo: Gary Hawkins

As has become the tradition since the trophy was returned to the Club in 2008, the Monty Terrell GPDA Trophy was presented at the awards dinner last Saturday and the winner was the Midlands Centre’s Graeme Fowler.

The original GPDA Flag Marshals Trophy is presented annually to a BRSCC Flag Marshal for excellent service during the season. The trophy dates from the early 70's and is now named after Monty Terrell, who was the BRSCC's Chief Flag Marshal in that period and won the award in 1976.

Before announcing Graeme as the 2014 winner, BRSCC Chairman Bernard Cottrell emphasised the gratitude all the drivers and officials have for the essential work done by the marshals each season.

Bernard then highlighted why the Loughborough based marshal had been chosen, "He has been marshalling with the BRSCC for just five years but has achieved a lot in that time. He made a decision very early to mix both incident marshalling and flagging, but over the first couple of years found himself doing more flagging and enjoying it.

His first BRSCC meeting was Caterham Festival in 2010 at Rockingham – since then has done an increasing number of meetings with the Club each season and has taken on additional responsibility.

He got marooned in Adelaide on holiday in 2010 and ended up flagging at a meeting, then went back as a ‘flaggie’ to the 2013 V8 Supercars Clipsal 500. He survived flagging the 2012 British GP after being nearly hit by an errant Bruno Senna's Williams on the Friday at Chapel and he completed an upgrade to ‘Experienced Marshal’ in April 2013

Graeme is very proud of his involvement in the BMMC Midlands Region Taster Day programme, helping new marshals through their first few meetings after deciding to join the orange ranks.

He is very well respected on post , is popular with his fellow marshals and is a worthy winner of the Monty Terrell GPDA Trophy.”

Graeme’s name is now added to the list of previous winners detailed below:

2008 – John Souch
2009 – Peter Button
2010 – Paul Newns
2011 – Paul Parkin
2012 – John Baker

2013 – Colin Barnes


Race Entries
& Membership