The week has ended on a high note for Scott Malvern. Photo: Jakob Ebrey

It has been a week of mixed emotions for BRSCC member Scott Malvern. It started badly last weekend when he lost out to rival Scott Pye in their battle for the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain. But it has ended on a brighter note with the news that he is one of the six chosen finalists for the highly prestigious 2010 McLaren BRDC Autosport Young driver of the year award.

Previous winners of this award include Jenson Button, David Coulthard and Anthony Davidson. It is seen as real launch pad to a professional motor racing career. The competition takes place over a number of days in November at different locations such as Silverstone and the McLaren Design & Technology Centre where the drivers will be assessed not just on the track but also for fitness, mental agility and presentational skills.

Being chosen as a finalist is a real honour and for the winner the prize is an absolute dream; Full membership to the British Racing Drivers Club, £50,000 towards next year’s race budget and a crack at driving a Formula One car at a test day with McLaren.

Unsurprisingly the competition is extremely tough, and of the six finalists Scott will be the only driver with no experience of a winged car or left foot braking. The cars used in the assessment will be an FIA Formula 2 car and a Mercedes DTM car. To get to drive those cars will be an amazing experience for Scott whose only competitive driving has been done in karting and Formula Ford.

Scott commented on being told of his selection “I am extremely pleased that my achievements this year have been recognized by the judges for this great competition. I am so very much looking forward to the experience. It’s something that I was dreaming of just two years ago when I was working as a mechanic for Jamun Racing and I now I’m living that dream. I will be giving it my all”

The other finalists are Luciano Bacheta, Tom Blomqvist, Jack Harvey, Nigel Moore and Lewis Williamson.


Race Entries
& Membership