Alan Henderson was on winning form at Snett. Photo: Jon Elsey

This weekend’s East Anglian Centre Summer Raceday on the Snetterton 200 circuit brought two days of very contrasting weather. Saturday was a perfect summer’s day while heavy rain on Sunday tested the drivers’ wet weather skills to the max!

Lee Morgan arrived at Snett as the Formula Jedi leader and left with an enhanced lead courtesy of a win on Saturday and the runner-up spot on Sunday. Ben Hingeley carried on his good form from Rockingham winning his third race of the season after taking the final podium place in Saturday’s encounter. Michael Watton ensured that Morgan is still within his sights by securing second and third.

Marc Kemp’s Type R Honda Civic dominated both Toyo Tires Honda VTEC outings, winning both comfortably. Mark Bennett was seventeen seconds adrift with Marc’s father, Martyn, in third. Robert Burkinshaw and Chris Adams stepped up to the podium on Sunday morning.

The experienced Mike Jenvey drew first blood in the Excool OSS Championship late on Saturday afternoon winning from Simon Tilling and Paul Spencer with some room to spare. However, Sunday’s plaudits went the way of Tim Gray who drove his Spire GT-3 to victory in both races. The first of these was a comfortable win from Excool MD Duncan Williams and Jenvey. In the second however, Jenvey made Gray work very hard for the victory laurels getting within 0.094 seconds of him. Simon Tilling completed the podium, his second of the weekend.

Both Alfashop Alfa Romeo wins went to Anthony George in his 156 Turbo, in what were his first appearances of the season. Graham Seager and Vincent Dubois shared the podium with him and in the second race Dubois moved up to P2 and Andy Robinson was third. Keith Waite and Nick Anderson shared Power Trophy class wins as did James Ford and James Bishop in the Twin Spark Cup.

With the majority of the regulars on an ‘away day’ at Spa, numbers were disappointing in the Dunlop TVR Challenge. Hugh Marshall took full advantage of the clearer field to strengthen his position at the top of the leader board. Hugh won the Saturday race ahead of Ivor Watson and Alex Champkin. However, Champkin continued to impress on Sunday beating Marshall to the line in a very close encounter. Mike Luck’s Chimaera was third.

Alan Henderson took two giant strides towards the BRSCC Mazda MX-5 SuperCup title winning both of Sunday’s races. Simon Goddard and Liam Murphy were the best of the rest in the first race. Round eight was somewhat closer with JJ Clements taking the fight to Henderson. Both drivers exchanged the lead and were shaping up for an epic finale before Clements spun handing the initiative to Henderson. Clements had enough of a margin from Liam Murphy to get back on track and claim P2.

The pair of Jam-Sport Fiesta races produced identical podiums with JJ Ross getting the better of Scott Robertson and Samuel Priest on each occasion. Class wins in the wet first race went to Alistair Kellett (D), James Styles (A) and Stuart Robbins (B). The second tour saw David Nye replace Kellett in Class D, and John Cooper oust Stuart Robbins in Class B. Styles retained Class A honours.

The Track Attack Racing Club had a busy Sunday afternoon with three races. James Janicki was the first man home in the Nippon Challenge at the wheel of his Nissan Skyline. Phil Collard (Mazda RX7) and Steve Cassar (Honda Integra Type R) joined Janicki on the podium. Dave Hemingway enjoyed a tight battle in the YourIrishShop.com Toyota MR2 race with Aaron Pullan, winning by just .0236 seconds. Peter Higton was third. Janicki had more success in the final Track Attack race which was a combination of both. Anthony Day and Nerijus Zabotka came away with the P2 and P3 trophies.

Aaron Thompson left Snett with his lead at the top of the Fiesta Junior standings stretched to a daunting looking sixteen points. Thompson claimed two race wins ahead of title rival Michael Higgs and Ronan Quinn had a memorable Sunday scoring his first podium finish in third, which he quickly repeated in the second race.

All the race results can be found at SNETTERTON SUMMER RACEDAY


Race Entries
& Membership