Tarun Reddy will race in MSA Formula this coming season. Photo:

The Double R team has announced the first driver of its squad for the forthcoming season of MSA Formula competition: he is India’s Tarun Reddy, the reigning MRF 1600 Champion.

Chennai-based Reddy, 17, made his UK racing debut in 2014 in club Formula Renault and was quickly a podium finisher. Double R boss Anthony ‘Boyo’ Hieatt said of his new charge: “We kept a close eye on his progress last year in Formula Renault, where he did an incredible job during his first season in the UK. I have absolutely no doubts Tarun will be a serious contender in MSA Formula this year; he is an exceptionally gifted young driver and everyone at the team is thrilled to be working with him.”

“I'm very pleased to sign with a prestigious team like Double R Racing which has had a tremendous amount of success in Formula 3,” said Tarun. “The goal is to win from the get-go, and with the experience and resources the team holds I am sure this is very possible.”

Woking-based Double R plans to field three drivers in MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost, the opening rounds of which take place in support of the British Touring Car Championship at Brands Hatch in early April.

Reddy began his motorsport career in karting, and was part of the Sahara Force India F1 Team Academy, graduating into car racing at 15 in the MRF 1600 Series in India. He won the National MRF 1600 Championship title last year, also embarking on his first UK campaign in Formula Renault, where he made a big impression during his maiden season overseas.

British F3 race winner Rupert Svendsen-Cook manages Reddy’s career through the Veloce Sports stable and is a former Double R driver himself: “I joined Double R at a similar age to Tarun in Formula BMW and with the team’s support I was able to develop hugely as a driver. For me, it was a no-brainer to place a great talent like Tarun with Double R, who will I know leave no stone unturned in the bid to win races and championships in MSA Formula.”


Race Entries
& Membership