The Mighty Minis put on a show for the Silverstone fans last weekend. Photo: Lianne Norfolk

The BRSCC Mighty Minis and their big brothers, the Super Mighty Minis, again lived up to all expectations with a scintillating four races at Silverstone last weekend.

Jonathan Lewis reigned supreme in the first of the two races for the class ‘A’ Minis with a dominant win over Kelvin Fletcher and Kit Stevens. David Marcussen finished second on the track but was subsequently handed a five-second penalty for exceeding circuit limits, which dropped him down to a disappointing fifth.

Lewis won a hard fought second race by a mere 0.009 of a second from Marcussen. Unfortunately, Marcussen’s day went from bad to worse, as he was disqualified from the results for a clash with Kelvin Fletcher on the second lap. Fletcher tried to continue after the clash, which occurred at Luffields, but a puncture put paid his charge. Championship leader Chris Slade was promoted to second with Kit Stevens having a second podium finish in third.

Both of the Super races were nothing short of a rolling example of how racing should be with many an overtake and lead change, corner after corner, with no contact but with not an inch to spare. The ten-car battle/train, call it what you may, certainly had the crowds on tenterhooks.

Pat Ford won the first race by a hair from Chris Morgan with championship leader Gary Patterson in third. The Silverstone fans were treated to another thrilling spectacle in the second Supers race, with Louise Inch, ex-Standard champion, showing she will be a force to reckon with in this, her first season in the senior class. Again, a ten-car battle for the lead ended with Gary Patterson taking the honours from Pat Ford with Chris Morgan in third. However, Neil Slark set the fastest lap.

All the protagonists will meet again to do battle at Snetterton on 1st/2ndSeptember.

The results from all the races at the Silverstone meeting can be found here; SILVERSTONE


Race Entries
& Membership