The new MSA Formula chassis is in hot demand! Photo;

After receiving an unprecedented 50 deposits, the organisers of next year’s hotly anticipated new junior single-seater championship, MSA Formula, have revealed the identities of the dozen teams which have been successful in securing an allocation from the 32 available chassis.

The winning teams include five who have supported Formula Ford in recent seasons, one from GP2, three from Formula 3, two from sports car racing and another from Formula Renault. Some of the teams will receive three of the Ford EcoBoost-powered chassis and others two.

Unveiled to critical acclaim at Silverstone at the end of September, the new championship – fully titled MSA Formula: Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost – is Britain’s official version of the Formula 4 concept created by motorsport’s governing body, the FIA, and will be the British Touring Car Championship’s single-seater support series, enjoying live TV coverage and bumper raceday spectator attendance.

Gerard Quinn, Head of Ford Racing in Europe, said the launch had been a phenomenal success and the team selection process a difficult one: “On the day we unveiled the car we received 70 provisional orders. This translated into a remarkable 50 cash deposits for cars, so together with the MSA we have had to look carefully at every proposal; inevitably we have had to disappoint some people.

“The great news is that MSA Formula has generated such excitement and anticipation that it has attracted 12 quality teams, that all 32 cars have found buyers, and that the new championship is set to be a huge success. Ford has supported junior single-seater racing in Britain through financially challenging times in recent years, and it is great to be able to look forward to a return to big grids, close competition and the emergence of some great new young driving talent.”

It is not just in Britain that the FIA’s Formula 4 concept is gathering strength. Adds Quinn: “Ford is receiving serious enquiries from other countries around the world who are interested in launching officially certified Formula 4 series powered by Ford EcoBoost, presenting opportunities for us to be involved as we have done with Formula Ford in the past.”

The 12 teams successful in securing MSA Formula chassis are:

Arden Motorsport (GP2, GP3 and Renault World Series)
Carlin (GP2, GP3 and F3)
Double R Racing (F3)
Falcon Motorsport (Formula Ford)
Fortec Motorsport (F3, GT, Renault World Series and Formula Renault)
JHR Developments (Renault Clio and Ginetta)
JTR (Formula Ford)
MBM Motorsport (Formula Ford)
Richardson Racing (Formula Ford)
Scorpio Motorsport (Formula Renault)
SWB Motorsport (Formula Ford and Formula Renault)
Team Pyro (British GT and Renault Clio)

The teams will each receive at least one of the Mygale-constructed MSA Formula chassis by the end of this year, with their full allocation of chassis following early next, ahead of the opening rounds of MSA Formula, which will take place at Brands Hatch over the weekend of 4/5 April.

The 32 young drivers who will fill the teams’ seats will be battling for the most prestigious title in British junior motorsport – to become the FIA Formula 4 Champion of Great Britain – as well as a £30,000 cash prize fund. The championship will be decided over 30 races; three at each of the 10 BTCC meetings to be held between April and October.


Race Entries
& Membership