Nick Tandy receiving the BRSCC John Nicol Trophy from Debs Nicol – Photo: Gary Hawkins

Nick Tandy, the reigning Le Mans 24 Hours winner, was named as the winner of the BRSCC John Nicol Memorial Trophy at the Club’s Awards Dinner Dance for the 2015 season, which was held at the Holiday Inn, Stratford-upon-Avon, on Saturday night. The trophy, named in honour of John Nicol, a former Chief Executive of the BRSCC, was received by a surprised and delighted Nick from John’s widow Debs Nicol.

In announcing the award, BRSCC Chairman Bernard Cottrell said, "Nick joins an elite list of names to be etched into the metal, including the likes of Mark Webber, Lewis Hamilton, Damon Hill, Murray Walker, one of our illustrious vice presidents Derek Bell and even our very own “Voice of Brands Hatch”, Brian Jones who received this accolade last year.

He began his career racing a Mini on the short oval circuits, funded by several jobs which included working at a tyre recycling plant and for Autoglass, so even from day one he was in the right industry. He also told many that he was a farmer, so if his capabilities in a race car are anything to go by, one can only wonder what he must have looked like at the wheel of a tractor in the farmyard doing donuts. It amuses and terrifies me all at the same time!”

There was another unexpected honour for Nick as he was also bestowed the title of Vice-President of the Club, a title which Nick has graciously accepted.

Alan Jenkins, co-ordinator of the Open Sportscar Series, won the Bert Lamkin Memorial Salver in recognition of the service he has given to the Club and his championship over many years.

The South Eastern Centre also featured in the presentation of the GPDA Monty Terrell Trophy with John Blake winning the trophy as the 2015 Flag Marshal of the Year.

A special presentation was also made to OSS driver Ginger Marshall and the Marshall Fraser Racing Team to celebrate 55 years in racing. Additionally, a new award made an appearance with the freshly commissioned Henry Ford Trophy being presented for the first time. MSA Formula champion Lando Norris became the Trophy's inaugural winner, with manager Martin Knapman receiving it on his behalf as Lando was unable to attend due to racing commitments in New Zealand.

Almost 350 guests attended the awards dinner, which was hosted once again by Downforce Radio's Jake Sanson and we will have news and photos of more awards later in the week.


Race Entries
& Membership