The SMRC make their annual pilgrimage to Oulton Park this weekend and very welcome they are! Photo: Jim Moir

Ten races are on the timetable for tomorrow’s North Western Centre meeting at Oulton Park, which will take place on the 2.692 mile International Circuit.

Our friends from the Scottish Motor Racing Club are always very welcome visitors to our Oulton Park meetings and they always make the journey down in good numbers. The Scottish Saloon & Sports Car Championship duly has the honour of the first race of the meeting quickly followed by their compatriots in the well supported Scottish BMW Compact Cup. In the Saloons & Sports Cars, Stirling’s Andrew Morrison is the driver to watch as his Seat Leon Cupra currently heads the points table after the first four rounds.

The Scottish Compact Cup battle is shaping up as a fight between current leader, St Andrews’ Alan Kirkaldy and Steven Dailly from Edinburgh, who is just one point adrift despite three wins to his name so far. The consistency of Mark Souter has also kept the Granite City racer in contention.

As they did at their last meeting at Rockingham, the Arrowpak Saloon & Sports Car Championship and Pipe Center/Geberit Ford Racing Series are joining forces with combined grids for their two races. With Mark Biggers, who had won all the Arrowpak races to date, pulling out at the last minute there is an opportunity for another driver or two to take the limelight. In the Ford Racing Series, the battle will be between David Matthias and Malcom Wise who have shared the wins so far this year.

For varying reasons the top two in the Post 89 category of the Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Championship are both absent without leave, so David McArthur will be the favourite although he can expect a stern examination of his credentials by his brother Tom and Douglas Crosbie.

James Bishop from Aylesbury will arrive at Oulton Park as the leader of the Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship but it looks to be a very competitive series this year, evidenced in the opening double header at Silverstone where eight different class winners were returned. As far as outright race winners go, Darelle Wilson, Andy Robinson, Roger Evans and Clive Hodgkin will all be in with a say.

Local Cheshire driver Tony Rudd will be hoping to continue his form from Anglesey earlier this month where he was a racer winner in the Demon Tweeks/Sparco XR Challenge. He can expect a strong challenge from current XR champion Michael Heath, who will be looking to get his title quest back on course, having missed the Anglesey double-header.

The Pre 90 Formula Fords will provide the biggest grid of the day with twenty-six of them on duty. Frodsham’s Jamie Jardine has picked up where he left off last year taking four wins from four to head Chris Hodgen at the summit of the points table. However, veteran Stuart Jones isn’t too far behind the lead pair on his return to Pre 90 having had a season in the Post 89 class.

For the Finals, entry list and timetable go to OULTON RACEDAY


Race Entries
& Membership