Adam Southgate took victory in tow of the three Porsche races. Photo: James Roberts Photo

The sun was out at Rockingham for the BRSCC race weekend as 10 championships took to the track for 20 action packed races. Donna Kelly reports for the BRSCC…

Avon Tyres Intermarque Championship

The Avon Tyres Intermarque Championship kicked off race action on Saturday. An early lead by Matt Simpson in race one was cut short when the pole sitter was forced to pull over at Pif Paf with mechanical issues. A great battle for the lead between Lewis Smith and Chris Brockhurst saw Smith go wide at the Deene hairpin leaving Brockhurst to take the lead and eventual race win. Malcolm Blackman took victory in race two ahead of Chris Brockhurst and Daniel Smith in second and third respectively.

BRSCC Formula Jedi Championship

A dominant drive by Ben Hingeley saw the rookie take double victory in the BRSCC Formula Jedi Championship. The pole sitter took the chequered flag with a 9 second gap to Lee Morgan on Saturday with Paul Butcher taking third. It was a disappointing race for championship leader Michael Watton who was forced to pull off into the grass at the start.
An incident between Zac Anderton and Jason Dixon forced a Safety Car out onto track on Sunday but it wasn’t long before Ben Hingeley was back on the power, taking the chequered flag with a 3 second gap to Michael Watton in second. Dan Clowes maintained his promising start to the season with third.

Excool OSS Championship

A dramatic race on Saturday in the Excool OSS Championship saw Mike Jenvey take the chequered flag ahead of Jonathan Hair and Josh Smith. A spin at the Deene hairpin by Graham Cole on lap 4 saw the race leader drop down to 7th before colliding with Simon Tilling at Pif Paf, resulting in early retirement for both drivers.

A fantastic battle between Graham Cole and Mike Jenvey on Sunday was cut short when a red flag put an early end to the race after Simon Tilling beached his car into the gravel at the Tarzan hairpin. Jenvey took victory ahead of Cole with Josh Smith third.

Graham Cole took victory on the final corner of the last lap to take the lead from Mike Jenvey in the third and final race with Jonathan Hair taking third. It was a disappointing race for reigning championship Josh Smith who was forced to retire early, pulling over at Yentwood on lap 5.

Toyo Tires Honda VTEC Challenge/4Two Cup

Problems on the first lap of the Toyo Tires Honda VTEC Challenge saw pole sitter Mark Kemp overshoot Deene hairpin, forcing him into early retirement. A great battle between Robert Burkinshaw and Peter Dixon saw Dixon take home the race win ahead of Burkinshaw and Phil Wright. Martyn Clatworthy took victory in 4Two Cup ahead of David Nash and James Palmer.

A Safety Car bunched up the pack in Sunday’s race after Lukasz Biel went off into the gravel at Tarzan hairpin on lap 4. Peter Dixon took his second win of the weekend, ahead of Burkinshaw and Mark Kemp. Martyn Clatworthy claimed victory in 4Two Cup ahead of David Nash and Alan Palmer.

Toyo Tires Porsche Championship

Adam Southgate took home the silverware in two out three races in the Toyo Tires Porsche Championship. A collision between Gary Duckman and Andrew Hack on Saturday resulted in a Safety Car being called out on track on lap 5. Despite increasing pressure from Richard Avery, Southgate took victory with just 0.414 separating the two drivers at the chequered flag.

A collision for Ben Van Den Bos at Deene hairpin on Sunday forced the driver into early retirement on the opening lap. It was also a disappointing race for Jayson Flegg who was forced to pull over at Chapman following a spin at the Deene hairpin on lap 9. The race finished with Southgate taking victory ahead of Duckman and Avery.

The Safety Car was scrambled on lap 3 of the third and final race to allow marshals to recover Linda Warren’s stranded Porsche at Brook. A mistake by the race leader Andrew Hack saw him run wide at Chapman, allowing Ed Hayes to take the lead and eventual race win. Adam Southgate finished in third.

BRSCC Mighty Minis Championship & BRSCC Super Mighty Minis Championship

A dominant drive by Liam Sullivan saw the Australian driver take double victory in the BRSCC Mighty Minis Championship. All eyes were on the six car battle for third place on Saturday with Penelope Jones pulling off a fantastic drive to take her first podium finish. A fantastic drive by Brayden Fletcher on Sunday saw the driver push his way up the reversed grid to take second and fought valiantly to take the lead from Sullivan on the final lap. Third place went to Caroline Gilbert.

It was a double victory for Jamie White in the BRSCC Super Mighty Minis Championship, taking his first win of 2015 on Saturday ahead of Scott Kendal and Anthony Ford. The podium line-up was repeated on Sunday despite a fantastic drive by Scott Kendal challenging for the lead.

Dunlop TVR Challenge

Mechanical issues for Tim Davis on Saturday saw the pole sitter pull into the pits on the green flag lap in the Dunlop TVR Challenge. An early lead by John Seery was cut short when the Invitation class driver spun at Gracelands on lap 4 leaving Andy Race to take the lead and eventual race win ahead of Jamie Golby and Darren Smith in second and third respectively.
A dominant drive by Hugh Marshall in Sunday’s race saw the Braunton driver take victory Sunday. A spin for John Seery on the last lap of the race saw him lose second place to Jamie Golby, before dropping down to fourth behind Darren Smith who took the third and final place on the podium.

Pickup Truck Championship

Reigning champion Michael Smith took victory in first Pickup Truck Championship race as Pete Stevens and Paul Tompkins went side by side for second place. Two Safety Cars helped to spice up the action out on track, once on lap 21 to recover the stranded Pickup of Shane Brereton from turn 4, then again on lap 28 following a spin from Antony Hawkins on the start finish line. An amendment to the race results resulted in Paul Tompkins being excluded from the results for being underweight, handing third place to Gavin Murray. A six car battle for the lead in race two of the Pickup Truck Championship saw Paul Tompkins take chequered flag with a 0.183 gap to Mark Willis in second and Michael Smith in third.

Irish Global Light Trophy

A red flag in race one of the Irish Global Light Trophy saw John Wilkes take victory ahead of Max Drennan and Mark Twomey. A Safety Car was called out onto track on lap 5 to recover the stranded Global GT of Michael Conway in race two. Paul Fitzpatrick took the chequered flag and race victory ahead of Mark Twomey and Max Drennan. Paul Fitzpatrick took victory in race three ahead of Mark Twomey and John Conway in the third and final race.

You can view all the qualifying times, race results and lap analysis at ROCKINGHAM RESULTS

Donna Kelly


Race Entries
& Membership