Scott Malvern was in record-breaking form this season. Photo:

Scott Malvern rewrote the dictionary definition of championship domination in 2011, the Essex youngster winning 18 times from 24 races on his way to the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain title. Thirteen of those wins were back to back as Scott sped to the crown to become the seventh consecutive Formula Ford champion for Jamun Racing and Mygale.

However, Malvern was certainly given a good run for his money by his team-mate Jeroen Slaghekke, the Dutchman leading the points in the first half of the season after Malvern stumbled in the opening rounds at Silverstone. Slaghekke won three times in 2011, and there was a single race win for another Jamun man, Australian Nick McBride.

Slaghekke and McBride made it a championship 1-2-3 for Jamun, with Finn Antti Buri claiming fourth overall just ahead of the season’s only other race winner, JTR’s Geoff Uhrhane.

In the Scholarship class there was a dominant display from Cavan Corcoran, who won the class 12 times on the trot with the Getem Racing team in the first half of the season and who then returned with Cliff Dempsey Racing to win a further four class battles and take the junior title.

Looking ahead to next season, the successful Formula Ford Sampler Day, to which prospective teams and competitors are invited to learn more about the championships and, more importantly, to try the cars involved, is to be repeated this week. Drivers – who must be at least 16 and hold a kart or ARDS licence – and team personnel wishing to take part at Silverstone on Friday 2nd December are invited to contact championship co-ordinator Penny Mattocks: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Click here for the final championship points tables.


Race Entries
& Membership