Sir Chris Hoy made a very impressive 'BRSCC' debut at Silverstone on Sunday. Photo: Paul Stones

It was certainly a busy start to the season for our Midland Centre as running concurrently with the International meeting on Sunday, they staged six regular races plus two 15 minute finals for Time Attack on the 1.64 mile Silverstone National circuit .

The big buzz around the Paddock was the news that six-time Olympic cycling champion Sir Chris Hoy had entered the Arrowpak Saloon & Sports Car races in an RJN prepared Nissan 370Z GT4 as part of his preparation for a full campaign with Nissan and RJN in the Avon Tyres British GT Championship, which was officially announced yesterday.

The 17 cars entered in the Arrowpak races were joined in both races by entrants from the new Pipe Center/Geberit Ford Racing Series and the Smarts4You 4TwoCup. Mark Biggers took a comfortable win in his 3000cc Nissan Skyline ahead of Peter Challis’ Porsche 997. Taking the final step on the podium was Sir Chris Hoy, who on this rare occasion had to settle for bronze. First home in the Ford Racing Series was David Matthias in an Escort Cosworth. The pack of seven Smart Cars were headed by Jake Jackson.

The Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship produced an impressive grid of 23 Alfas of all shapes and sizes. The veteran Chris Snowdon (A2) took the race win in his 16 valve 33, ahead of Guy Hale (A1) and Ray Foley (C). Clive Hodgkin took a Class B win and James Bishop emerged as the victor in the large field of Class E cars.

The Fiesta Juniors started a new era on Sunday and it was last year’s runner-up, Rob Cox, who was quick to make his mark winning from Michael Higgs and Geri Nicosia.

Mike Biggers had another win in the second Arrowpak outing but this time Simon Deaton’s Porsche 997 made him work much harder for it. Peter Challis dropped one place and in doing so relegated Hoy to fourth. David Matthias and Jake Jackson again triumphed in the Ford Racing Series and 4TwoCup respectively.

Guy Hale (A1) came out on top in the second Alfa race, after race one winner Chris Snowdon suffered a DNF as early as the first lap and Graham Seager retired on the final lap having lead for most of the race. Class B’s Darelle Wilson put in a fantastic performance to take second ahead of reigning champion Roger Evans (C). Nick Anderson was the A2 class winner and James Ford just edged out James Bishop in Class E.

It was a case of as you were in the Fiesta Junior Championship were the podium of the first race – Cox, Higgs and Nicosia was repeated. Thus Robert Cox takes an early championship lead with a 100% record but there was plenty of evidence from the other Junior drivers that we are in for a very competitive season.

In the Time Attack Finals, Kevin Jones won the Club Class in a Noble M12 GT03 and Richard Marshall took the Pro Class honours at the wheel of his Mitsubishi Evo 9GT.

You can see all the race results and lap analysis from the meeting at SILVERSTONE NATIONAL


Race Entries
& Membership