David Robinson kep his R300-S winning run going at Zandvoort. Photo:

Almost 150 drivers made their way across the channel to race at our annual EuroFest meeting last weekend, which this year took place at the Circuit Park Zandvoort in The Netherlands.

Philip Jenkins returned home with two wins in the Avon Tyres Caterham Supersport Championship to increase his lead at the summit of the points table. Stephen Nuttall and William Smith made the podium for each race, sharing the P2 and P3 spoils between them.

The Toyo Tyres Porsche Championship had a triple-header at Zandvoort and although Ed Hayes took two wins, his title rival Richard Avery came away with the biggest haul of points courtesy of two runner-up spots then victory in the final race in which Hayes finished down in fourteenth. Garry Lawrence was third in the first race and then Nick Hull enjoyed two memorable races securing the final podium place in each. Alastair Kirkham took two 924 class wins and Adam Croft the other.

Dan Gore was the first man home in the Caterham Tracksports, beating Max Robinson and Timothy Dickens to the line by just 0.011 seconds. The second race was a touch more sedate with Jack Brown claiming victory from Chris Hutchinson by a comfortable five seconds. Timothy Dickens was again third.

The two Toyo Tires Racing Saloons Series races returned the same podium for each race. Stuart Waite claimed both wins in his BMW M3 while Stephen Pearson and Karl Cattliff, also in M3s, exchanged steps on the podium with each taking a second and a third.

David Robinson maintained his winning run in the Caterham Superlight R300-S Championship taking both wins, but only after a fantastic battle with Aaron Head and Sean Byrne who finished second and third in each. In race one David crossed the line just 0.017 seconds ahead of Aaron and 0.060 ahead of Sean. The margin of victory increased in race two to a far more leisurely 0.056!

The eclectic mix offered by the four Zandvoort Sports & Saloon Trophy races produced wins for three different drivers. Richard Finlay was the first victor in his Irish Global GT Light. Race two went the way of another Irishman, Philip Jones in an ASK Supercar. Britcar refugee Martin Schiele made the trip across the water with his BMW M3 worthwhile with victory in race three before Philip Jenkins again stole the limelight in the final race.

There was a bit of a surprise in the Caterham Roadsports where leader Paul Aram failed to make an impact in either race. Olly Wigg took full points in race one after a close battle with former Royal Marine Steve McCulley and Alistair Calvert, who rounded out the podium. The second race saw Wigg drop down a place after losing out to David Webber by an incredible 0.009 seconds! Calvert was again third, in very close proximity.

All in all it was a great weekend of racing despite some intermittent rain on Sunday and we are of course very grateful to all the staff and marshals at Zandvoort for their assistance in running the EuroFest.

All the results can be viewed at ZANDVOORT EUROFEST RESULTS


Race Entries
& Membership