Cadwell Park is where the Mighty Minis success story began. Photo: Lianne Norfolk

Cadwell Park is the venue for the first outing of the year for the BRSCC Northern Centre. The raceday takes place on Sunday and will feature ten races.

The undulating Lincolnshire circuit is the ancestral home of the Mighty Minis – they had their inaugural race here in 1996, and over forty of them will be heading north for the double-header to pay homage. Newcomer Kelvin Fletcher has surprised everyone in the Standard Class by heading the early points table. In the Supers, Chris Morgan, back from a year off, leads the title race with last year’s champion Elliot Stafford not quite yet in the groove. However they will both have to be on their guard as, the wily fox Gary Patterson is not far behind.

Another championship on the up is the Logson Group Porsche Championship. Two new drivers, Lynda Warren and Philip Waters, will be welcomed into the Porsche paddock. Both the newcomers are racing in the 924 class, which is currently topped by Alastair Kirkham. The triple header at Snetterton produced three different race winners so it is anyone’s guess as to who will come out on top at Cadwell. It is a different story in the Boxster Class where Thirsk’s Richard Sykes carried all before him and leads from Gerry Taylor and David Bearman.

The eclectic mix of cars offered by the Arrowpak sponsored Euro Saloons & Sports Car Championship are sure to enjoy Cadwell’s twists and turns. There is something of a ‘class war’ going on as the respective leaders of the five classes are all within six points of the overall lead. Class C’s Ian Craig has that honour but he is absent on Sunday, which will give Andy Robinson, Ilsa Cox, Wayne Schofield and Chris Boon the opportunity to overtake him in the points table.

Adding some spectacular sportscar racing, and making their first appearance of the season at a BRSCC meeting, are the Duratecs & Pintos of the BIGprofile Sports 2000 Championship. Mike Jenvey is the man to watch in the Duratecs in his Jenvey-Gunn TS6 while Paul Streat holds a very narrow lead in the Pintos from Damien Griffin, Mike Fry, Colin Feyerabend and Richard Cooke.

For the Final Instructions, entry lists, timetable and paddock plan click here—BRSCC-RACEDAY-06-12-96


Race Entries
& Membership