Wes Fox dominated Caterham Roadsport B at Snett with two wins. Photo: Rachel Horgan Photography.

Easter Sunday and Monday brought some fantastic summer like weather for the first meeting of the year organised by the BRSCC East Anglian Centre, which was also the Club’s first on the new, impressive but challenging Snetterton 300 circuit.

Large grids of the Avon Tyres Caterham Supersports, combined with Roadsports A, had a race on each day with Championship points leader Lee Wiggins just winning on Sunday with Steve Day hard on his heels and Jamie Orton third. Monday’s race saw Jeremy Webb take the victory with Orton moving up to second and Reece Somerfield in the final podium position.

In the Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsport B races, Wesley Fox took wins on both days from Mike Hart and James Needham in race 1 and the same pair in race 2 but with the positions reversed. Wesley was also the recipient of the Peter Swinger Memorial Trophy on Monday. Peter who died in 2002 had been a long standing Club member, marshal, Club and MSA Steward and had raced Lotus 7’s in the past, so this Trophy is awarded annually in his memory by the BRSCC East Anglian Centre.

Richard Mitcham carried on where he left off after the first two rounds at Oulton Park, by taking pole for both races in the BRSCC Formula Jedi Championship. This was converted into two wins followed home by James Fletcher in each race. Third place went to Scott Stevens in the first Jedi outing and Daniel Cook in the second. Richard also collected the Henry Rilett Trophy which is awarded annually in memory of Henry who was for many years the Centre’s Chief Scrutineer.

The Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship had one race on Sunday with Anthony George’s 156 Turbo taking the flag from Stephen Dymoke’s 156. Alastair Iles was third in his 147. 2010 champion Mel Healey maintains her place at the top of the points table with a second place finish in Class E behind Neil Smith.

The Competition Car Insurance – Dunlop Ford Fiesta Championship Class C had two races with good grids on Monday for the ST’s. David Grady converted pole to wins in both races, the second of which was run mainly behind the safety car following an incident approaching Montreal Hairpin, a pity after an exciting first race. The Cockill boys, Ed & Harry were second and third respectively in each race.

In Classes A & B of the Fiestas, John Langridge completed another Class A double victory as he did at Silverstone, disappearing into the distance in both encounters from David Elsom. Scott Baines took third overall in each race as well as Class B wins.

The SRCC Sports 2000 Pinto Championship race was won by a large margin of over 37 seconds by the Swift DB2 of David Pittard from Mike Fry’s Lola T86/90 and Peter Needham’s Tiga SC82.

The March Racing Academy Sports 2000 Duratec Championship saw a victory in the first round of this championship for Robert Oldershaw in his Gunn TS11 just ahead of Mike Jenvey by 0.009 with Harry Chapman in third.

To view the full results CLICK HERE

John Marshall


Race Entries
& Membership