Another one day meeting came and went for our BRSCC Midlands Centre this past weekend, as Mallory Park in Leicestershire played host to a mix of contemporary and historic racing machinery amongst five different contests. Thankfully, the weather stayed clear and dry all day to further enhance the on-track action.

David McArthur was a force to be reckoned with in the pair of Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Championship races, as he went on to pick up the victory on both occasions. Each time, his main rival was Adam Quartermaine who hounded McArthur for the entirety of Race 1, but not even a safety car period could help Quartermaine find a way through. Eventually, McArthur would win by just under 0.7 seconds while 3rd place would go the way of Nigel Dolan to round off the Post 89 podium. McArthur’s task in Race 2 was somewhat easier as he was able to romp away from Quartermaine and end up completing the double by a sensational 14 seconds. Quartermaine again took 2nd place with Class B’s Alaric Gordon completing the top 3. Both times in the Pre 90 contingent, the driver known as Juiceie Brucie was able to pick up both overall class wins.

HRDC were back on the timetable again with a pair of exciting races. Dan Lewis would go on to take the race win and the A-Series class victory from pole position in his 1965 Austin Mini Cooper S, with Julian Crossley’s 1959 example making it a Mini 1-2; Jon McDonald’s Ashley Works GT completed the overall podium. In the Academy class, Neil Primrose was dominant in his victory as he beat Merlin Glanville by two laps with Charlie Sharp in 3rd.

The 45 Minute HRDC Allstars race saw Rory Jack put his 1965 Lotus Elan on pole, but in the end the victory would go to Matthew Moore in the striking Austin Healey Jamaican. Jack would end up coming home in 2nd place some 17 seconds down the road, followed by Nick Morrison’s MGB Roadster in 3rd place. The TG class was won by Christian Jaeger’s Milano MG, while David Glanville collected ACD honours ahead of Michael Ross.

Track Attack Race Club also brought a competitive and varied entry for their pair of races for the Nippon Challenge, Tricolore Trophy and Multi Marques. Despite starting on the front row next to the pole sitting Honda Civic of Richard Hockley, Nick Gwinnett made sure he and his Renault Clio took the fight to him and eventually came out on top. The pair were only separated by 1.4 seconds at the flag with Russell Thomson’s Renault Clio picking up 3rd place. Thomson then went two places better in the second race later that afternoon, as he took the race victory after both Hockley and Gwinnett retired. Chris Bassett brought his Peugeot 205 GTi home in 2nd place followed by Ash Bruneau’s Clio 172 in 3rd.

Completing the timetable were the rapid racers in the Superkarting-UK Championships. The top three on the podium remained the same in both races, with Charlie Johnson collecting both races in his KTM 450 Anderson, ahead of Aaron Sifleet’s Gas Gas Anderson chassis and Nathan Barton’s FPE Anderson.


Race Entries
& Membership