Emma Karwacki takes to the Silverstone podium as Alfa champion. Photo: Michael Lindsay

Changing fortunes at Silverstone over the Britcar 24 Hours weekend meant that Emma Karwacki was confirmed as a very popular 2011 BRSCC Alfashop Alfa Romeo champion. In the end, her only challenger for the title, partner Neil Smith, suffered a broken engine in qualifying so the fact that Emma had a puncture in the race didn't affect the outcome. Seven class E wins from nine starts was enough! After the race she was able to take the applause of her team as she made her way onto the podium.

Sadly the long awaited fight for overall honours between Roger Evans (GTV), Neil Smith (156 WTCC) and Anthony George (156 Turbo) never materialised as only Roger finally made it onto the grid. However, he drove an exemplary race to win the coveted KEVIN GRIFFITHS TROPHY for the second time, leading home Guy Hale (147 GTA) and the supercharged 75 3 litre of Chris Oxborough.

Sarah Heels (147 GTA) finished fourth to win Class C, but behind her there was a superb race long battle in Class C with several lead and position changes throughout the 25 minutes. Going into the final lap, the 156 of the returning James Ford held a narrow lead from James Thomas's 146 Ti but the latter made a successful bid for the top spot at the end of the Hangar Straight and held on to take his first ever class win. Andy Inman came home a close third ahead of Paul Buckley, both in 156s. James Thomas's win moved him into a well deserved second place in the Championship ahead of Neil Smith and 2010 champion Mel Healey.

The Championship has its final race of the year at Rockingham on Sunday, October 16th.

For more information about the Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship CLICK HERE


Race Entries
& Membership