Lee Morgan is the 2013 Formula Jedi champion. Photo: AJB Photographic

Back-to-back victories for Lee Morgan at Cadwell Park on Saturday confirmed the Runcorn racer as the 2013 Formula Jedi champion, a fantastic achievement in what is only Lee’s second season in the championship. Dan Clowes was the next across the line in each race with the promising teenager Matthew Ryder and Richard Gittings sharing the third place spoils.

Congratulations also to Rick Styrin who was confirmed as the Boxster champion following another brace of victories. However, the returning veteran Gerry Taylor and Jonathan Greensmith made Styrin earn his triumph, with the pair swapping second and third place finishes. Rebecca Jackson and Alastair Kirkham remain on course to secure the respective Class B and Class C titles, each scoring two class wins apiece.

The Saker domination of the Arrowpak Euro Saloons continued in Lincolnshire with Steve Harris claiming both race wins. Doug Ellwood’s Marcos Mantis and Dave Cockell’s Ford Escort Cosworth managed to force the other Saker, that of championship leader, Paul Rose, down to fourth in the first 20-minute race, Rose being hampered by a late puncture. However, Rose responded in race two, finishing second ahead of Ellwood and Cockell.

Exiled Scot, Peter Tervet, was the star of the Super Mighty Minis show winning both races. Neven Kirkpatrick reinforced his claim for championship honours returning third and second place finishes. Elliot Stafford was second in the first race and while championship leader Jamie White didn’t have the best of days, a third place finish in the second race increased his lead at the top of the points table with just two rounds to go.

Zack Booth left Cadwell Park on Saturday evening a step closer to securing the Mighty Minis title in what is his debut season. Zack won the first race and although he had to play second fiddle to title rival Jonathan Lewis in race two, a DNF for Lewis in the first race meant that teenager Booth claimed the great points haul. Charlie Budd scored a good second place finish behind Booth in race one and Kelvin Fletcher celebrated his first outing of the year with two hard fought third place finishes.

The same three names made up the podium in each of the two Reeltech Irish Global Lights tours, with Paul Fitzpatrick winning from Peter Drennan and Mark Braden in the first race. In the second stint, Fitzpatrick dropped to third with Drennan and Braden moving up a place each.

For the full results visit CADWELL RACEDAY


Race Entries
& Membership