Matt Pinny battles Peter Bonas in typical Mighty Minis action. Photo: Rosie Burnett

Matt Pinny applied the perfect finish at last weekend’s Northern Centre meeting at Cadwell Park with victory in the first round of the 2010 BRSCC Mighty Minis Championship.

The 30 year old from Northampton led from start to finish having earlier put his Mini on pole in morning qualifying. Holding onto his coat-tails, albeit some 6.5 seconds behind, was the experienced Peter Bonas who was embroiled in a tooth and nail battle with Ant Ford, Peter Tervet and David Holmes. Tervet eventually claimed the final podium position, helped by recording the fastest lap.

In the Super Mighty Minis, last season’s runner-up Scott Kendall sent a loud and clear message to his rivals with pole position and victory by just under 5 seconds, despite his rear bumper hanging off! Elliott Stafford fought back gamely from a slow start to take second, edging out the uber experienced Bob Bennetts.

The new format of the BRSCC Porsche Championship made its debut with the opening two rounds. In addition to 924’s the Championship now has a class for Boxsters and it was Harrowgate’s Nick Hull who carried the day in a 3200cc Boxster, winning both rounds. Dave Hughes was second in both with Alastair Kirkham and Adam Croft taking a third place apiece in their 924’s.

The Cadwell meeting was something of an ‘away day’ for the BARC South Eastern Centre who travelled north with their Cannons Motor Spares Tin Top Saloon Series and the Quaife Intermarque League. Tiger R6 drivers Joe Tuckey and Paul Dudley shared the spoils with both scoring a victory and second place finish in the Tin Tops double header.

Steve Hall’s Audi TT scored a brace of wins in the Quaife Intermarque League leading home from Keith White’s BMW Z4 in each race. There were a number of TVR’s from the Dunlop TVR Challenge in the Intermarque races with Tim Davis & David Chant’s heading the pack, both in Tasmins.

The full race results can be found here CADWELL RESULTS


Race Entries
& Membership