The Avon Tyres National Formula Ford Championship has once again found itself the recipient of an accolade after it managed to retain its Single Seater of the Year status for the second time in a row in the annual Downforce Awards.

After first receiving the awards last year for its stellar 2018 season that saw Niall Murray win his second National title, another sensational year of racing has helped the National Formula Ford Championship remain the most popular single-seater championship in the UK, managing to beat the likes of the BRDC British Formula 3 Championship to the award.

The 2019 National Formula Ford season was thrilling and competitive from start to finish, with Team Dolan’s Ross Martin racing his way to the title with six wins to capture the title. Along the way, he was challenged by the Cliff Dempsey Racing trio of eventual 2nd place finisher Spike Kohlbecker, James Clarke and AIMSHOP.COM Formula Ford Festival winner Jonathan Browne, plus Kevin Mills drivers Neil MacLennan and Michael Eastwell and other racers such as Rory Smith, all of whom were regular podium finishers and, apart from Clarke, race winners during 2019.

The retention of this award further cements Formula Ford’s place as the perfect single-seater feeder series for young drivers heading out of karting or wishing to develop their skills and race craft, ahead of moving up the ranks towards their ultimate racing ambitions. The 2020 edition of the National Formula Ford Championship is set to be another excellent affair with young drivers such as Tom Ward, Milan de Laet and James Crossley all set to join the ranks and make their debuts this season.

Ian Smith, outgoing championship coordinator of the National Formula Ford Championship, was pleased to see his series succeed once more, stating “It was pleasing for me to step aside with this accolade for the Championship. I’m sure that the 2020 drivers will give us a fighting chance of achieving the hat trick this time next year.”


Race Entries
& Membership