Roberts and Deott proved that in Fun Cup, consistency is key in order to challenge for the title – Photo: Marvin Hall

The JPR Uvio duo of Farquini Deott and Graham Roberts proved to be the masters of the wet in this years Fun Cup, with three victories in a highly competitive and entertaining season..

They had just missed out on podium finishes in the opening races with fourth at Brands Hatch and sixth at Oulton Park. But when the torrential rain came in round three at Snetterton, they proved their worth, taking victory over DespatchBay.com’s Andy Bicknell and James Littlejohn in a thrilling finale.

Having thought that the Snetterton weather was bad it was even worse for the fourth round at Silverstone, but a second win for JPR Uvio put them in line for their first title. A third place in the day race at Anglesey was followed by victory number three at the Welsh coastal circuit.

Although starting the final race at Oulton Park as favourites for the title, both Eco Racing 209 and Track Torque2 Rent Dominos were still in with a shout at the title too.

Eco Racing 209’s trio of Paul Abraham. Tom Mills and Paul Turner all had spells in the race lead at some point in the year, but never managed a race win, despite finishing second in the first two rounds. All round consistency from all three drivers gave them the runner up spot in the Championship.

Track Torque2 rent Dominos had started the season with a win at Brands Hatch and third in round two at Oulton Park, before electrical maladies struck at Snetterton. They came back strongly at Silverstone to follow JPR Uvio to the flag, despite Henry Dawes struggling without wipers in the pouring rain.

But for the rest of the season Dawes was forced to find a new team mate after Chris Hart was sidelined on health grounds. Neil Burroughs proved to be a capable replacement and after another podium finish in the Anglesey night race, they secured third in the championship.

With Fun Cup legend Nigel Greensall joining the CCS Media for a full season, they were one of the few crews to run four drivers in each race. Ciro Carannante believed his Road Rallying experience gave him the edge in dubious weather and with Alan Honarmand and Bob Tomlinson on board, they followed their third place at Silverstone with a hard fought second in the final round at Oulton, taking fourth in the final standings.

DespatchBay.com were one the most improved teams and unlucky not to have a win, only contact at Snetterton which damaged the steering stopped James Littlejohn’s charge to a maiden victory. They were still second however and with Andy Bicknell’s pace improving throughout the year, they were on the podium again with third at the Oulton finale, taking fifth in the championship.

Paul Wighton’s Team Trooper had their first win in the Anglesey day race after a stirring drive from Anthony Reid was followed by an equally strong night performance when Reid struggled to find his light switches. They finished third and completed the top six in the final positions too.

Apart from JPR Uvio, Team Sherardize were the only team to top the podium more than once. Fun Cup Academy boss Jay Shepherd joined Peter Belshaw for the win in round two at Oulton, but Marcus Clutton was back with Belshaw as they clinched the Oulton finale too.

Missing out on a top six championship by one point were Team Lane Roofing Evo, with ex Team Honeywell driver Geoff Fawcett joining regulars Nigel Griffiths, Chris Weatherill and Ed Cole.

Two other crews made a podium finish, with Harry Mailer, Guy and Zoe Wenham’s Apollo Motorsport car third at Brands Hatch and Eco 61’s Alan and Rory Brown joined by Jay Shepherd for third at Snetterton.

Peter Scherer


Race Entries
& Membership