The champions of the 2016 season on stage together at the Awards night on Saturday – Photo: Gary Hawkins

A fantastic night was had by all as the great and the good of the British Racing & Sports Car Club turned out once again for the annual Championship Awards at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon to celebrate the champions of the 2016 season.

Over 370 guests were present for the evening that was hosted by BRSCC’s Media & Marketing Executive Scott Woodwiss, before the Club’s Vice Chairman Peter Daly took to the stage to give his address to the Club on behalf of absent chairman Bernard Cottrell. The night also saw the traditional presentation of a number of special awards, most notably the BRSCC John Nicol Trophy which saw this year’s recipient chosen as 2009 Formula 1 World Champion Jenson Button.

Sadly Jenson was unable to attend in person, however he did provide an acceptance speech that was read out by Peter Daly on his behalf. Within his speech, Jenson said:

“The BRSCC is a very special organisation and is at the heart of British motorsport and it’s an incredible honour to be the recipient of such a prestigious award and to join the list of incredible winners that proceed me including Brawn GP in 2009 – a year which I’m sure you can imagine will never cease to put a smile on my face.

Whilst the F1 chapter may be finished, my story within motorsport is far from over. There’s a lot I still want to achieve and I will do my upmost to represent the BRSCC and this award as best as I can along the way.”

The trophy was received on the night by Cheryl Lynch of the MSA on behalf of Jenson. Other award winners included Sue Crook who received the Bert Lamkin Memorial Salver, while the Henry Ford Trophy was presented to British F4 champion Max Fewtrell.

The BRSCC would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to everyone who attended and made the evening a success. The Club now looks ahead to the start of a new season that kicks off at Oulton Park on March 25th.


Race Entries
& Membership