Anthony George, is one of three drivers entered for Thruxton this weekend who were there in 1995. Photo: Michael Lindsay

Alfa Romeo competitors who were at Thruxton on 26th March 1995 probably never imagined that it would be 18 years before the Championship next visited the BARC’s home circuit. Therefore, it was welcome news when the 2013 calendar was announced and we saw that we would be there for a mid-summer (August 17/18) double header as part of the Civil Service Motoring Association’s “Big Weekend”.

The meeting features a number of other one marque races with Jaguars, Ferraris, MGs, Austin Healeys and Aston Martins all in action. Amongst the Alfa Romeo entry, there are three drivers who took part back in 1995 – Chris Snowdon who won the modified category with his ex-Dealer Team GTV6, Anthony George who raced a 33 and Keith Waite at the wheel of a Giulietta. This time, Chris will be racing the Lahoma Engineers 33 16v which has already taken him to a race win at Rockingham this year and Anthony the superb 156 2 litre turbo that has, at last, shown impressive reliability winning four races at the Silverstone and Snetterton double headers. Keith Waite is entered to share Vincent Dubois’ 3 litre GTV.

After an unlucky visit to Snetterton in July, we are hoping that Herbert Burgmayr from Munich will have better luck this time in his 75 3 litre. However, if the modified cars should run into problems, the most likely driver to pick up the pieces is Darelle Wilson with his Class B GT Diesel. At Snetterton he put in two outstanding drives into 3rdand 2ndplaces overall, finishing on both occasions ahead of Roger Evans’ 147 GTA. Darelle’s was the third diesel to take part in the Championship, following on from the 164 prepared by Mike Buckler and the very successful 156 Sportwagon of Bryn Griffiths. At Cadwell we also had the 147 Diesel Cup car of Tom Andrew. Incidentally, the 164 had the distinction of being driven on one occasion by current BBC Grand Prix commentator Ben Edwards.

Once again, it looks as though Thruxton will see a fierce battle in Class E (Standard Production up to 2 litres). James Ford (156) will be seeking to maintain his overall championship challenge to Roger Evans but 2009 Champion Paul Plant, having his second outing of the year in another 156, will be trying to prove that he is still a Class E winner. However, there are several other quick drivers in this class including Dave Messenger, Chris Healey, James Bishop and Andy Inman in 156s. Those with 145s will also be in contention again as they were at Silverstone, Oulton and Cadwell – in particular Matt Daly and Tom Eastwood. The Fiat invitation class should see another win for Fraser O’Brien.

After rounds 7 & 8 at Snetterton, Roger Evans leads the Championship with 171 points, with James Ford on 165, Graham Seager 129 and Darelle Wilson 114. Following Thruxton, the next round will be at Brands Hatch on Sunday, September 1st.

Michael Lindsay


Race Entries
& Membership