The BRSCC South Eastern Centre made its second visit of the season to Brands Hatch on the 15th/16th of August for a 21-race programme, sponsored by Grand Prix Racewear. The Race TV crew were in attendance on the Sunday filming for a series of ‘BRSCC Racing’ programmes to be broadcast on Motors TV shortly. Grey early-morning skies soon gave way on both days to bathe the Indy Circuit in glorious sunshine and there was plenty of close racing for the TV cameras to capture.

Caterhams made up a third of the bill, with Drivers Republic Roadsport A runners kicking off the weekend's racing with a 30-minute bash. Leeds' JJ O'Malley took opening honours. Londoner Antony Sidney-Woolett had a shorter trip for his Sunday laurels. Bromley's Robert Springate’s victorious return journey was even shorter. Groombridge's Paul Brannan emerged triumphant after 20 minutes of frantic Roadsport B action, but could only manage third on Sunday, behind London's Trevor Fowell.

The first Alfashop Alfa Romeo Championship 20-minute qualifier went the way of Londoner Tim Lewis in his Sud Sprint. Neil Smith made his trip from Eckington worthwhile, claiming Sunday’s race in his 156 Veloce.

The BRSCC's Half Litre Club origins were recalled in the Lewis-Evans Trophy 500 Owners Association outing. Market Harborough’s Nigel Ashman stroked his Cooper Mk6 to victory.

The first BRSCC LMA Euro Saloon and Sports Car 20-minute race fell to Feltwell's Peter Challis's Nissan Primera. His second victory on the Sunday was more comfortable. Finishing 2nd in Class A and a very creditable 4th overall on Saturday was Colin Davids who drove the car he normally prepares for Mal Davidson, who had to withdraw in the morning due to illness.

A restarted Metro Caterham Race Academy (Group 1) 15-minute race fell to Hornden on the Hill runner Lee Wiggins, with Barrowford's Jay Gardner matching the feat in the Group 2 qualifier.

Welcome visitors were the Welsh Sports Saloon Car Championship contenders, with Treorchy's very own Alvin Powell clinching victory in his Mondeo. Local man Rod Birley missed Saturday's 15-minuter, other wise detained on DMN action at Thruxton, but drove from the back of the grid to win the second outing, and claimed race three from pole.

Fastest on the track over the weekend were the BRSCC Formula Jedi runners. Boston's Richard Mitcham proved the fleetest in Saturday's qualifier, while Northampton's Luke Kidsley's headed the field on Sunday.

Additional single-seater action on the Sunday came courtesy of two races for the BRSCC Club Formula Ford MS Championship in association with Richard Egger Insurance. Overall points leader Scott Malvern extended his advantage, leading in his Ray GRS08 when the red flags came out. The weekend's final race was heading the way of the Ilford man again until there was a ‘coming together’ with championship rival Rory Butcher, which opened the way for Horsham’s Matthew Parr to take the chequered flag.

The weekend's closest finish came in the BRSCC Mighty Mini Championship race, with Stembridge's Chris Morgan just 18 thousandths ahead of Matt Pinny after 20 minutes. The wining margin for Fareham's Scott Kendall in the BRSCC Super Mighty Mini Championship race was much more comfortable although there were plenty of very close battles down the field.

Clerk of the Course Derek Stanley and the clerking team would like to thank all marshals and officials for ensuring that the challenging schedule was maintained.

The meeting results can be found at Click Here

The next BRSCC South Eastern Centre meeting is at Lydden Hill on October 3-4.

Colin Mann.


Race Entries
& Membership