The BRSCC’s trio of Mazda MX-5 series is once again preparing for a healthy 2021 season, with the Mazda MX-5 Championship, Mazda MX-5 SuperCup and the new Mazda MX-5 Clubman Championship all expected to welcome large grids across the year, starting at the season opener at Croft in North Yorkshire in May 15-16.

At the time of writing, the ever-popular and successful MX-5 Championship for the Mk1 generation Mazda MX-5 sports car has so far attracted 55 registered drivers for the year, with a number of notable names returning for a shot at the vacant title now that the 2020 champion Joe Wiggin has progressed to the MINI Challenge this year. There are several returning names who look set to challenge for that crown, especially vice-champion Oliver Allwood, who will be keen to avenge missing out on the title by just 10 points on dropped scores. His closest rivals look set to be Jack Brewer, Steve Foden, Sebastian Fisher, Brian Trott, Luke Pullen, Stuart Symonds, Jason Greatrex, Fraser Fenwick and Michael Knibbs. All of these names are more than capable of running at the front and challenging for race wins, so expect a title favourite to come from any of the above.

Over in the MX-5 SuperCup, the defending champion does return as Samuel Smith will look to build on his Pro Class success in his first season graduating from the Mk1 ranks in 2020. His reign might not last long as 2021 looks set to see the return of multiple race winner and title contender Jack Harding, who may well contest a full season again to grab the championship he has narrowly missed out on four times in the last five years. The Hills Motorsport squad has a formidable lineup of drivers again with Adam Bessell joining their ranks alongside 2020 drivers Michael Knibbs, James Cossins and Declan Lee amongst others, while further challenges are expected to come from Patrick Fletcher, John Langridge and Simon Baldwin, while Samuel Smith’s fellow racing brother Tom also looks set to go head to head in a sibling rivalry albeit competing with a different team. Much is also expected of Luke Herbert Racing, the new team run by the three-time champion himself. Tom Seldon and Leigh Britten will be his drivers as they embark on their first season.

The Club class debuted in 2020 with much success, seeing Xavier Brooke become its first champion ahead of Liz Walton and Seamus Heaney. All three are back once again and will be joined by Clive Powles, Michael Close, Martin Heath, Bruce Robinson and Scott Wright amongst an influx of newcomers also set to line up too.

The new Mazda MX-5 Clubman Championship will also debut this year with a one-day, two race format at each meeting to ensure costs and logistics are kept to a minimum for those wishing to experience MX-5 racing for the first time as a novice, or those who simply want a slightly more cost-effective experience. Familiar names from the original two-day, three-race format MX-5 Championship that will contest the new series include Richard Bartlett, Jake Styles, Dale Whiteman and Matthew Fletcher, plus a two-car entry from Steel City MX-5 for Kevin Bird and Rob Greensmith, the latter the brother of former Mk1 and Porsche champion Jonathan.

Speaking about the high level of registrations, BRSCC Mazda MX-5 coordinator Mandy Andrew said “It’s always a delight to see both new and existing drivers sign up for another season of racing with us in the Mazda MX-5 paddock and with the addition of the exciting new one-day Clubman Championship it’s going to be a busy and vibrant year. I’m very much looking forward to getting back to racing again and Croft is certainly going to be a busy and entertaining weekend. It’s a favourite circuit among drivers and I’m sure that the action on track is going to once again showcase why we have one of the best supported paddocks in British club motorsport.

For more information on any of the three BRSCC Mazda MX-5 championships, visit the dedicated Formulae pages on the BRSCC website at

You can enter the first rounds of the Mazda MX-5 Championship, Mazda MX-5 Clubman Championship and Mazda MX-5 SuperCup at Croft Circuit on May 15-16 via the event page linked here –


Race Entries
& Membership