Mallory Park is known as something of a speedbowl that nestles in the heart of Leicestershire and provides some superb high speed racing whenever a race event comes to town. This Saturday will be no exception as the BRSCC Midlands Centre gets set to host an intense day of racing that’s sure to be thrilling.

The main event will be the pair of races from the visiting Avon Tyres Northern Formula Ford Championship, which makes its annual sojourn away from its local venues. Usually, the championship competes at circuits such as Oulton Park and Anglesey, however at least once every year an “away day” is added to the calendar to produce a little bit of variety. Class P for the most contemporary Formula Ford chassis should see the likes of Nigel Dolan, Joseph Payne and Jack Wolfenden running towards the front of the entry, while defending Northern champion Alaric Gordon will be hoping to come out on top in Super Classic A against Seamus Wild and Mark Bates. BRSCC chairman Peter Daly will line up in Super Classic B to battle with Juiceie Bruceie and Andrew Ian Schofield, while Simon Clews will represent Super Classic C in his Royale PR24.

The Superkarting-UK Club Championship also brings some rapid machinery to the paddock representing five different classes of kart. With engine sizes ranging between 125cc and 450cc, the powerful and lightweight chassis will be enjoying running flat out on Mallory Park’s long corners. Expect karts from marques such as Anderson, PVP, Spyda, Raider and Apex to take to the track sporting engines from the likes of KTM, Honda, Viper, Gas Gas and Jade as they all race to come out on top overall and in their respective classes.

In addition, there are also set to be two sets of special BRSCC Saloon & Sports Car Trophy races also catering to a wide variety of vehicles taking part. First, the two 15-minute Trophy races are set to see Ashley Hicklin and the pairing of Dave and Joe Porter face off in their pair of Radicals, lining up alongside the MG ZR of Matthew Ford, Matt Mitter’s Hyundai Coupe, a Caterham Roadsport driven by Nicholas Smith and Lorna Vickers making her first appearance in a Mazda MX-5 Mk1. There’s also set to a be a longer 45-minute Mini-Enduro with a mandatory pitstop, although at this time the final entry list is due to be confirmed due to the possibility of late entries, which are also possible in the Trophy races too.

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership