It was a night filled with celebrations as Caterham Motorsport's finest capped off a phenomenal 2016 – Photo: SnappyRacers

The best and brightest of personalities were in attendance on Saturday night at the annual Caterham Motorsport Awards ceremony at the East Midlands Conference Centre in Nottingham, where all 6 of this year's title winners were officially crowned and presented with their championship trophies.

In what had been touted as two of the closest fought Championships in recent years for The City Magazine Caterham Academy, it was left to both Steven Tozer (Green Group) and Ben Gillias (White Group) to top the podium on stage and receive their plaudits and Championship trophies in fine style. There was an additional prize and cause for celebration for Gillias in particular, as moments later, he surprised his devoted girlfriend by proposing to her on stage – or should we say fiancee, as thankfully she said yes!

Russ Olivant was able to finally clinch that long-awaited title in the Avon Tyres Caterham Roadsport Championship after missing out on Academy glory last year, while both Anthony Barnes and William Smith were only too delighted to take home their spoils for taking the crowns in both (respectively) the Avon Tyres Caterham Tracksport Championship and the ITC Compliance Caterham Supersport Championship. Finally, Aaron Head capped another successful year as he was confirmed as a two-time winner of the Caterham Superlight R300-S Championship, as he now moves on to pastures new in the next chapter of his racing career.

The evening was hosted by Caterham Motorsport's own Simon Lambert and Jennifer Mouratsing, with an additional opening speech from Caterham Cars CEO Graham Macdonald who took the opportunity to confirm his participation in next year's Caterham Academy. Those in attendance as guests included almost the entire Caterham grid from this season and their friends and family, along with key personnel from Caterham Motorsport, Caterham Cars, the BRSCC and their sponsors and partners. It was also confirmed that the European rounds next season will take place on the legendary Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium, providing an exciting and mouth-watering challenge to all drivers set to make the journey on to the continent.

It's been another stellar year for all 6 Caterham championships and we very much look forward to more of the same next season. Roll on 2017!

Scott Woodwiss


Race Entries
& Membership